Last Updated: Apr 2, 2017
You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument.
- What do I know?
- What can I find out?
Reference resources help you find out more!
Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.
Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.
• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.
• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.
• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.
• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.
Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.
See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.
Online reference resources require login for off-campus use. Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted. For more login information see the Database Login page.
some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get
some background information on your topic. These resources are
available on and off campus.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Resource to investigate hot topics and social issues. Contains pro/con viewpoints, background information, statistics, primary sources, news articles, and podcasts.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides access to the content of more than 270 reference sources in a database format for multidisciplinary research.
- Issues & Controversies
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
- Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources
Provides primary source documents focused on immigration and multiculturalism in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.
- Immigration in America Today: An Encyclopedia
Over 70 A-Z entries address topical and timely aspects of immigration in modern America
- Latino American Experience
ABC-CLIO research tool for Latino American history and culture.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
This book contains 152 original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
Call Number: Reference Stacks REF JV6465 .E53 2010
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Call Number: Reference Stacks REF E185 .E54 2006
Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources
Call Number: Reference Stacks REF JV6465 .I4737 2006
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: Reference Stacks REF F1406 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures
Call Number: Reference Stacks REF HT108.5 .E53 2002
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Reference Stacks REF GN333 .W67 2009
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Call Number: Reference Stacks REF E184.A1 G14 200
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Call Number: Reference Stacks REF E184.A1 H35
Immigration and Asylum
Call Number: Reference Stacks REF JV6012 .I56 2005
Encyclopedia of Ellis Island
Call Number: Reference Stacks REF JV6484 .M67 2004
People of Color in the United States
Publication Date: 2016-10-17