This is the "Understand
 Your Topic" page of the "History 110- African American History - Professor Lee" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 110- African American History - Professor Lee  

Last Updated: Mar 26, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.cerritos.edu/HIST110_Lee Print Guide RSS Updates

Understand  Your Topic Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What Do You Know?

You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument. 

Ask yourself:

  • What do I know?
  • What can I find out?

Reference resources help you find out more!

Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.

Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.

     

    Your Assignment

      BOOK REVIEW

    Write a 5-10 page book review of "...any book about the African-American past that deals with our time period." The purpose of the book review is to "...discuss the relevance of the book read to the study of African-American history. You will also compare your book to two book reviews and at least one other book of African-Amerian history."

    • Find at least one or two scholarly reviews(or more) of your book that have been published in academic journals.
    • Cite at least one or two other books on the American or the African-American past that deal with the same issues dealt with in your book

       RESEARCH PAPER IN FAMILY HISTORY

    Write a 5-10 page research paper concerning "... the history of your own family, the family of a friend or fellow-student, or that of some other person.. You may do research into the family history of a prominent African American in history". The purpose of the paper is to "...fit the hsitory of your family into the larger history of African American people in the United States", and to "explain your family's actions within the large context of the major events and trends of African American history during that time". The paper "...may concern any aspect of the history of a family."

    • Cite and discuss at least one or two books or articles on African American history that have dealt with the issues that you have discussed.
     

    Reference Sources

    Reference Sources   person with a book head

    Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic. 

    See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

    Online reference resources require login for off-campus use.  Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted.  For more login information see the Database Login page.

     

    Selected Library Reference Sources - Online

    Below are some of the library's online database resources which can help you get some background information on your topic.  These resources are available on and off campus:

    • The African American Experience
      ABC-CLIO research tool for African American history and culture.
    • America: History and Life
      EBSCO database that includes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library  Icon
      Provides access to the content of more than 270 reference sources in a database format for multidisciplinary research.
    • Oxford African American Studies Center
      Provides access to reference sources in African American studies featuring the Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the African American National Biography project; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America; and Africana.
    • Salem History
      Provides access to various reference sets related to history, including full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary from the Milestone Documents in American History; Great Events from History; Milestone Documents of American Leaders series, and more
     

    Suggested Reference Books

    Cover Art
    African American National Biography
    Call Number: REF E185.96 .A4466 2013
    Publication Date: 2008

    Cover Art
    African Americans at War
    Call Number: REF U52 .S88 2004
    Publication Date: 2003

    Cover Art
    Black Women in America
    Call Number: REF E185.86 .B542 2005
    Publication Date: 2005

    Cover Art
    Chronology of African American History
    Call Number: REF E185 .H64 1997
    Publication Date: 1997

    Cover Art
    Civil Rights Chronicle
    Call Number: REF E185.61 .C5918 2003
    Publication Date: 2005

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
    Call Number: REF E185 .E5453 2009 V 1
    Publication Date: 2006

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
    Call Number: REF E185 .E5453 2009 V 2
    Publication Date: 2009

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of African American Society
    Call Number: REF E185 .E546 2005 V 1
    Publication Date: 2006

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration
    Call Number: REF E185.6 .E54 2006 V 1
    Publication Date: 2006

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of the Harlem Literary Renaissance
    Call Number: REF PS153 .N5 B675 2006B
    Publication Date: 2006
    ALSO: An electronic book accessible through the World Wide Web

    Cover Art
    Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema
    Call Number: REF PN1995.9 .N4 B433 2007
    Publication Date: 2007

    Cover Art
    Icons of African American Protest
    Call Number: REF E185.96 .K56 2009 V 1
    Publication Date: 2008

    Cover Art
    Jim Crow : a historical encyclopedia of the American mosaic
    Call Number: REF E185.61 .J526 2014
    Publication Date: 2014

    Cover Art
    The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature
    Call Number: REF PS153 .N5 G73 2005 V 1
    Publication Date: 2005

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Companion to African American Literature
    Call Number: REF PS153.N5 O96 1997
    Publication Date: 1997

    Cover Art
    Writing African American women : an encyclopedia of literature by and about women of color
    Call Number: REF PS153 .N5 W756 2006 V 1
    Publication Date: 2006

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip