This is the "Welcome" page of the "Library Database Workshop: Finding Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Database Workshop: Finding Articles   Tags: research, workshops  

Learn how to use scholarly databases to conduct a literature search. Locate magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for your research paper. Select search terms, save your searches, get citations, create search alerts and RSS feeds.
Last Updated: Feb 9, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.cerritos.edu/database_workshop Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Workshop!

When you have to write a research paper or essay and use outside sources, where do you go?  If you're like most students you go straight to Google.  But does Google contain everything you need?  And is the stuff you need easy to find?  Is it free?  Is everything on the Internet written by authorities on the topic and experts in the field? And really, does your professor want you to quote a Wikipedia article in your paper?

The Database Workshop will introduce you to resources available through the Cerritos College Library that are free, authoritative, and easy to use. You'll learn how to conduct a literature search and use scholarly databases.  Just the types of resources your professors want you to use in your papers!

 

What Will I Learn?

                 

Learn how to use scholarly databases & how to conduct a literature search!

Discover how to locate magazine, journal, and newspaper articles on any subject!

Learn how to select search terms, refine your results, save your searches, and get citations!

Create search alerts and RSS feeds!

Impress your instructors with a well researched paper!


  • Library Research Workshops are offered through the Student Success Center and are conducted in LC 208.
  • These hands-on workshops are conducted by Cerritos College Librarians.  They last approximately one hour.
 

Library Research Workshops - Spring 2012 Dates and Times

Library Research: Getting Started

In this activity you will learn how to access and use library resources such as research guides, the library catalog, and the library databases to find authoritative sources for your paper. You will learn how to login to your library account, how to find books and articles, and how to access the databases from off-campus.

  • Coming soon!

Library Databases: Finding Articles

In this activity, you will learn about the scholarly databases available through the Cerritos College Library.  You will learn how to select a database, select your search terms, and narrow and refine your search results to locate magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for your research paper. You will also learn how to save your searches, get citations, and create search alerts and RSS feeds.

  • Coming soon!

Creating Citations & Works Cited with EasyBib

In this activity you will learn about citation formats and how to create a citation. You will also be introduced to the EasyBib citation tool that can be used to generate citations and a list of works cited for your essays and papers.

  • Coming soon!

Internet Research: Search, Don't Surf

In this activity you will learn about the types of information available on the open web as well as the skills and techniques to use it effectively. You will learn how to search the Internet to find authoritative, useful sources for specific topics and how to evaluate sites that you find.

  • Coming soon!

 

 

Database Skills Exercise

Practice your database skills!

Information highway

 

More Information

  Questions 

Library Reference Desk:
562-860-2451 X2425

Student Success Center Desk:
562-860-2451 X2404
Room: LC209

 

Talk to a Librarian

Need Help 

The Cerritos College Librarians can help you with your research in a variety of ways:

Librarians are available during library hours to answer your questions by phone or chat.
(562) 860-2451 x2425

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip