Information about Electronic Books (eBooks) at Cerritos College Library
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2012
Use the Library Catalog to search for electronic books by subject, keyword, author, or title and then limit Material Type to E-books.
Google is aiming to add full content of books on-line. They already have some books on-line & lots of books with some content, so that you can judge how useful they might be, before trying to get hold of them from elsewhere.
There are many sources on the web for free ebooks.
Check some out below:
- Project Gutenberg
There are over 30,000 of out of copyright books available here. So if looking for older material, this may be of help.
- Open Library
Includes references to 23 million books and includes the full-text of many out of copyright editions
Free audio books on the web.
Have you tried Electronic Books for your research?
Electronic Books or eBooks are simply the digital versions of published print materials. They are available and searchable 24 hours a days, seven days a week. Browse or search one of the Cerritos College Libary eBook collections listed below to access a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.
- Most eBooks require login for off-campus use.
- Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted.
- For more login information see the Database Login page.
||To search for specific eBooks in the library collection: Use the Library Catalog to search by subject, keyword, author, or title and then, in the left hand column under Material Type, check the box for E-Book and click Include.
- ABC-CLIO eBooks
eBook collection containing encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger. These ebooks complement the library collection of ABC-CLIO databases.
- eBook Collection from EBSCO
Access more that 12,700 new books and classic titles or search for eBooks in our catalog by author, title or subject.
- Ebrary ebook Collection
The Ebrary ebook collection from Proquest provides access to scholarly e-books from leading publishers.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides access to the content of more than 270 reference sources in a database format for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford African American Studies Center
Provides access to reference sources in African American studies featuring the Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the African American National Biography project; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America; and Africana.
- Oxford Art Online
Comprehensive reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present day.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Traces the usage of words through quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, classic literature, and other sources.
- Oxford Music Online
The gateway to music research and the access point for the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Also includes a network of web-links to musical sites around the world.
- Salem Health
ALERT: Cannot currently be accessed off-campus. 2/18/15. Provides online access to Salem Press’ award-winning health reference works. Includes Salem Press’ bestselling Magill’s Medical Guide; Genetics; and more. NOTE: To search the contents of an individual title, navigate to the Search page and click on the desired title.
- Salem Literature
ALERT: Cannot currently be accessed off-campus. 2/18/15. Access the complete content of the Magill’s Literary Annuals (1977-2010); Masterplots; Critical Insights series, and more. NOTE: To search the contents of an individual title, navigate to the Search page and click on the desired title.
- Salem Science
ALERT: Cannot currently be accessed off-campus. 2/18/15. An online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets. NOTE: To search the contents of an individual title, navigate to the Search page and click on the desired title.
- World Book Encyclopedia
Based on the World Book Encyclopedia, the suite includes more than 40,000 articles, 270,000 primary source documents, and 5000 e-books. It also includes a Spanish language encyclopedia, atlases, dictionaries, web and periodical links, as well as current events and Back in Time articles.