This is the "Find Books" page of the "English 222 - Multicultural Children's Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 222 - Multicultural Children's Literature   Tags: children's literature, fairy tales, higgins, literary criticism, literature  

This guide provides resources to assist in finding multicultural children's literature including fairy tales, folk tales, fables, poems, picture books, short stories and fiction from countries other than America or Western Europe.
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2016 URL: http://libraryguides.cerritos.edu/eng222 Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Like to Browse?

To browse the library shelves for fairy tales & folk tales use the general call numbers below:

  • BL range: Includes children's books of mythology from all cultures
  • GR 99.6 - GR 390: Includes folklore from specific countries or regions
  • PZ 7: Includes stories, fables, fairy tales and folktales
  • PZ 8 - PZ 8.3: Includes fairy tales and folktales

Library Reference Sources - Online

Below are some of the library's online resources which can help you get literary criticism on your story:

  • Salem Literature  Icon
    Access the complete content of the Magill’s Literary Annuals (1977-2010); Masterplots; Critical Insights series, and more. NOTE: To search the contents of an individual title, navigate to the Search page and click on the desired title.
  • Artemis: Literary Sources  Icon
    Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of world authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. Includes sources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
  • Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society
    The Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society provides the interested reader with a necessary introduction to the wide range of issues that define the field. To find related articles, try the keywords "children's literature" in the search bar.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  Icon
    Provides access to the content of more than 270 reference sources in a database format for multidisciplinary research.
 

Where is That Book?


Ever wonder how books are shelved?

In this library we use The Library of Congress Classification System to organize books on the shelves. The LC SYSTEM organizes material in libraries according to twenty-one branches of knowledge called classes. The system uses letters to represent the twenty-one broad branches of knowledge. The letters I, O, W, X AND Y are not used.

 The twenty-one classes are:

A – GENERAL WORKS

B – PHILOSOPHY, PSYCHOLOGY, RELIGION

C – AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY

D – HISTORY: GENERAL & OUTSIDE THE AMERICAS

E – HISTORY: UNITED STATES

F – HISTORY: UNITED STATES LOCAL & AMERICAS

G – GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION

H – SOCIAL SCIENCE

J – POLITICAL SCIENCE

K – LAW

L – EDUCATION

M – MUSIC & BOOKS ON MUSIC

N – FINE ARTS

P – LANGUAGE & LITERATURE

Q – SCIENCE

R – MEDICINE

S – AGRICULTURE

T – TECHNOLOGY

U – MILITARY SCIENCE

V – NAVAL SCIENCE

Z – BIBLIOGRAPHY, LIBRARY SCIENCE & INFORMATION RESOURCES

These twenty-one broad subject areas are further divided into more specific subject areas by adding one or two additional letters as well as some numbers. For a more detailed breakdown of any subject, go to the Library of Congress web page

So, How Do I Find a Book on the Shelf?

Try this exercise, which was put together by the librarians at Lewis-Clark State University, to see if you have figured out the Library of Congress system!

 

Books

Finding Folktales & Fairytales in the Library  walking book

    Use will need to use the Library Catalog to find books available in the Cerritos College Library. You can search for books by author, title, subject, or keyword. 

    Use some of the terms below to search by SUBJECT to help you find books in the library:

    • Fairy tales 
    • Folklore
    • Tales 
    • Children's poetry
    • Children's stories

    HINT: To find books from a certain country, add the name of the country to the search. For example: Fairy Tales Russia, Folklore Mexico, Tales Haiti. 

    Remember your professor does NOT want you to use children's literature from  America or Western Europe (Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and United Kingdom - Great Britain, Scotland and Wales).
       

      Electronic Books

      Below are few E-books available electronically through the libraryMost E-books require a login for off-campus use.  Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted.  For more login information see the Database Login page.

      Cover Art
      Afro-Cuban Tales - Lydia Cabrera; Alberto Hernandez-Chiroldes (Translator); Lauren Yoder (Translator); Isabel Castellanos (Introduction by)
      Call Number: Electronic Book - Click on the title for access
      ISBN: 9780803215337
      Publication Date: 2005-01-01

      Cover Art
      The Chinese Boy and Girl - Isaac Taylor Headland
      Call Number: Electronic Book - Click on the title for access
      ISBN: 9781426428654
      Publication Date: 2007-01-01

      Cover Art
      Little Sima and the Giant Bowl - Zhi Qu; Lin Wang (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Electronic Book - Click on the title for access
      ISBN: 9780822576204
      Publication Date: 2008-09-01

      Cover Art
      Folktales from the Japanese Countryside - Hiroko Fujita; Fran Stallings; Harold Wright; Miki Sakurai
      Call Number: Electronic Book - Click on the title for access
      ISBN: 9780313095719
      Publication Date: 2008-01-01

      Cover Art
      The Arabian Nights - Richard F. Burton (Translator); A. S. Byatt (Introduction by)
      Call Number: Electronic Book - Click on the title for access
      ISBN: 9780812972146
      Publication Date: 2004-06-01

      Cover Art
      The Flower of Paradise and Other Armenian Tales - Virginia A. Tashjian (Foreword by); Bonnie Marshall
      Call Number: Electronic Book - Click on the title for access
      ISBN: 9781591583677
      Publication Date: 2007-03-01

      Cover Art
      The Thousand and One Nights - Edward William Lane
      Call Number: Electronic Book - Click on the title for access
      ISBN: 9781148958408
      Publication Date: 2010-04-01

      Cover Art
      Brazilian Folktales - Margaret Read MacDonald (Editor); Livia De Almeida; Ana Portella
      Call Number: Electronic Book - Click on the title for access
      ISBN: 9781563089305
      Publication Date: 2006-03-31


      Cover Art
      The Eagle on the Cactus - Angel Vigil
      Call Number: Electronic Book - Click on the title for access
      ISBN: 9781563087035
      Publication Date: 2000-06-15


       

      Books in the Library

      Below are some fairy & folk tale books available in the library:

      Cover Art
      A Tiger by the Tail and Other Stories from the Heart of Korea - Lindy S. Curry; Chan-eung Park (Editor)
      Call Number: South Stacks GR342 .C87 1999
      ISBN: 9781563085864
      Publication Date: 1999-05-15

      Cover Art
      A Twist in the Tail - Jan Ormerod (Illustrator); Mary Hoffman; Mary Hoffman
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.1.H6725 TW 1998
      ISBN: 9780805059465
      Publication Date: 1998-09-15

      Cover Art
      A Weave of Words - Robert D. San Souci; Raúl Colón (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.S248 WE 1998
      ISBN: 9780531300534
      Publication Date: 1998-03-01

      Cover Art
      Adelita - Tomie dePaola (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8 .D437 AD 2004
      ISBN: 9780142401873
      Publication Date: 2004-08-03

      Cover Art
      An Anthology of Russian Folktales - Jack V. Haney (Editor)
      Call Number: South Stacks GR203.17 .A58 2009
      ISBN: 9780765623058
      Publication Date: 2008-10-01

      Cover Art
      Arabian Nights - Laurence Housman
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.H817 AR 1981
      ISBN: 9780913870914
      Publication Date: 1981-01-01

      Cover Art
      Baba Yaga and the Wise Doll - Hiawyn Oram; Ruth Brown (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.O63 BAB 1998
      ISBN: 9780525459477
      Publication Date: 1998-02-01

      Cover Art
      Brazilian Folktales - Margaret Read MacDonald (Editor); Livia De Almeida; Ana Portella
      Call Number: South Stacks GR133.B6 A435 2006
      ISBN: 9781563089305
      Publication Date: 2006-03-31

      Cover Art
      Cuckoo - Cucu - Lois Ehlert; Gloria de Aragón Andújar (Translator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.1 .E55 CU 1997
      ISBN: 9780152002749
      Publication Date: 1997-03-15

      Cover Art
      Earth Tales from around the World - Adelaide M. Tyrol (Illustrator); Michael J. Caduto
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section JUV GR655 .C33 1997
      ISBN: 9781555919689
      Publication Date: 1997-09-02

      Cover Art
      Favorite Fairy Tales Told in Czechoslovakia - Virginia Haviland (Retold by); Anca Hariton (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.H295 FAS 1995
      ISBN: 9780688125936
      Publication Date: 1995-10-01

      Cover Art
      From the Mango Tree and Other Folktales from Nepal - Kavita Ram Shrestha; Sarah Marwil Lamstein
      Call Number: South Stacks GR307.N4 S57 1997
      ISBN: 9781563083785
      Publication Date: 1997-01-15

      Cover Art
      Gadi Mirrabooka - Helen F. McKay (Editor); June E. Barker; Francis Firebrace Jones; Pauline E. McLeod
      Call Number: South Stacks GR366.A87 G33 2001
      ISBN: 9781563089237
      Publication Date: 2001-11-15

      Cover Art
      Hesitant Wolf and Scrupulous Fox - Karen Kennerly (Editor)
      Call Number: South Stacks PN982 .K4
      ISBN: 9780394464961
      Publication Date: 1973-11-01

      Cover Art
      Horse Hooves and Chicken Feet - Neil Philip (Selected by); Jacqueline Mair (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.1 .H8616 2003
      ISBN: 9780618194636
      Publication Date: 2003-09-22

      Cover Art
      Hurricane Dancers - Margarita Engle
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section JUV PS3555.N4254 H87 2011
      ISBN: 9780805092400
      Publication Date: 2011-03-15

      Cover Art
      Hyena and the Moon - Heather McNeil
      Call Number: South Stacks GR356.4 .M36 1994
      ISBN: 9781563081699
      Publication Date: 1994-05-30

      Cover Art
      I Saw Your Face - Kwame Senu Neville Dawes; Tom Feelings (Illustrator); Jerry Pinkney (Foreword by); Kwame Dawes
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section JUV PR9265.9.D39 I15 2005
      ISBN: 9780803718944
      Publication Date: 2004-12-29

      Cover Art
      Inch-High Samurai - Shiro Kasamatsu (Illustrator); Ralph F. McCarthy
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ49.41 .M33 1996
      ISBN: 9784770021014
      Publication Date: 2001-01-16

      Cover Art
      Indonesian Folktales - Murti Bunanta (Editor); Margaret Read MacDonald
      Call Number: South Stacks GR320 .I473 2003
      ISBN: 9781563089091
      Publication Date: 2003-09-30

      Cover Art
      Japanese children's favorite stories - Florence Sakade
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ5 .S186 JPN
      Publication Date: 1958

      Cover Art
      Jasmine and Coconuts - Cathy Spagnoli; Paramasivam Samanna
      Call Number: South Stacks GR305.5.T3 S63 1999
      ISBN: 9781563085765
      Publication Date: 1999-01-15

      Cover Art
      Maples in the Mist - Minfong Ho; Jean Tseng (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section JUV PL2658 .E3 M36 1996
      ISBN: 9780688120443
      Publication Date: 1996-09-01

      Cover Art
      Musicians of the Sun - Gerald McDermott
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section JUV F1219.76 .F65 M34 1997
      ISBN: 9780689807060
      Publication Date: 1997-09-01

      Cover Art
      Noodlehead Stories - Martha Hamilton; Mitch Weiss; Ariane Elsammak (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.1 .N74 2000
      ISBN: 9780874835847
      Publication Date: 2000-01-25

      Cover Art
      Nursery Tales Around the World - Judy Sierra; Stefano Vitale (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.1 .N799 1996
      ISBN: 9780395678947
      Publication Date: 1996-02-18

      Cover Art
      Parrot Tico Tango - Anna Witte
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.1 .G354 FI 2005
      ISBN: 9781841488073
      Publication Date: 2005-03-01

      Cover Art
      Rimonah of the Flashing Sword - Eric A. Kimmel (Adapted by); Omar Rayyan (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.K527 RI 1995
      ISBN: 9780823410934
      Publication Date: 1995-01-01

      Cover Art
      Tales from the Heart of the Balkans - Bonnie Marshall; Vasa D. Mihailovich (Editor)
      Call Number: South Stacks GR250 M38 2001
      ISBN: 9781563088704
      Publication Date: 2001-08-15

      Cover Art
      Thai Tales - Supaporn Vathanaprida; Margaret Read MacDonald
      Call Number: South Stacks GR312 .V38 1994
      ISBN: 9781563080968
      Publication Date: 1994-06-15

      Cover Art
      The Cloak of Dreams - Béla Balázs; Jack Zipes (Edited and Translated by); Mariette Lydes (Illustrator)
      Call Number: South Stacks GR335 .B355 2010
      ISBN: 9780691147116
      Publication Date: 2010-08-23

      Cover Art
      The Dragon Prince - Laurence Yep; Kam Mak (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.Y46 DR 1997
      ISBN: 9780060243814
      Publication Date: 1997-09-30

      Cover Art
      The Egyptian Cinderella - Shirley Climo; Ruth Heller (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.C56 EG 1989
      ISBN: 9780690048247
      Publication Date: 1989-10-05

      Cover Art
      The Girl Who Spun Gold - Virginia Hamilton; Leo Dillon (Illustrator); Diane Dillon (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.H1756 GI 2000
      ISBN: 9780590473781
      Publication Date: 2000-09-01

      Cover Art
      The Golden Carp and Other Tales of Vietnam - Lynette D. Vuong; Manabu Saito (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.V889 GO 1993
      ISBN: 9780688125141
      Publication Date: 1993-09-01

      Cover Art
      The Hatseller and the Monkeys - Baba Wagué Diakité (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.1.D564 HAT 1999
      ISBN: 9780590960694
      Publication Date: 1999-02-01

      Cover Art
      The Headless Horseman and Other Ghoulish Tales - Maggie Pearson; Gavin Rowe (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.1.P325 HE 2000
      ISBN: 9781566563772
      Publication Date: 2000-09-01

      Cover Art
      The Hunterman and the Crocodile - Baba Wagué Diakité (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.1.D564 HU 1997
      ISBN: 9780590898287
      Publication Date: 1997-03-01

      Cover Art
      The Korean Cinderella - Shirley Climo; Ruth Heller (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.C56 KO 1993
      ISBN: 9780060204327
      Publication Date: 1993-05-30

      Cover Art
      The Magic Egg and Other Tales from Ukraine - Barbara J. Suwyn; Natalie O. Kononenko (Editor)
      Call Number: South Stacks GR203.8 .S89 1997
      ISBN: 9781563084256
      Publication Date: 1997-09-15

      Cover Art
      The Magic Lotus Lantern and Other Tales from the Han Chinese - Haiwang Yuan; Michael Ann Williams (Foreword by)
      Call Number: South Stacks GR335 .Y72 2006
      ISBN: 9781591582946
      Publication Date: 2006-05-01

      Cover Art
      The Norton Anthology of Children's Literature - Lissa Paul (General Editor); Gillian Avery (Editor); Peter Hunt (Editor); Lynne Vallone (General Editor); Jack Zipes (General Editor)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ5 .N655 2004
      ISBN: 039397538X
      Publication Date: 2005-03-10

      Cover Art
      The Seven Chinese Brothers - Margaret Mahy; Mou-Sien Tseng (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8 .M283 SE 1989
      ISBN: 9780590420570
      Publication Date: 1992-07-01

      Cover Art
      The Silver Treasure - Geraldine McCaughrean; Bee Willey (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.1.M144 SI 1997
      ISBN: 9780689813221
      Publication Date: 1997-04-01

      Cover Art
      The Snow Maiden and Other Russian Tales - Bonnie Marshall; Alla V. Kulagina (Editor)
      Call Number: South Stacks GR203.17 .M37 2004
      ISBN: 9781563089992
      Publication Date: 2004-09-30

      Cover Art
      The Story of Colors (La Historia de los Colores) - Marcos; Domitila Dominguez (Illustrator); Anne Bar Din (Translator)
      Call Number: South Stacks GR115 .M35 1999
      ISBN: 9780938317456
      Publication Date: 1999-05-01

      Cover Art
      This Same Sky - Naomi Shihab Nye (Selected by)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ8.3.T41 TH 1992
      ISBN: 9780027684407
      Publication Date: 1992-10-31

      Cover Art
      Under the Mambo Moon - Julia Durango; Fabricio VandenBroeck
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section JUV PS3604 .U727 U53 2011
      ISBN: 9781570917233
      Publication Date: 2009-02-01

      Cover Art
      Under the Moon and over the Sea - John Agard; Grace Nichols (Editor); Christopher Corr (Illustrator); Sara Fanelli (Illustrator); Cathie Felstead (Illustrator); Satoshi Kitamura (Illustrator); Jane Rey (Illustrator)
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section JUV PR9205.6 .U53 2002
      ISBN: 9780763618612
      Publication Date: 2003-01-01

      Cover Art
      Why Ostriches Don't Fly and Other Tales from the African Bush - I. Murphy Lewis; Izak Barnard (Other Adaptation by); Irene Lewis
      Call Number: South Stacks GR358.2.B83 L48 1997
      ISBN: 9781563084027
      Publication Date: 1997-01-15

      Cover Art
      Folktales and Fairy Tales
      Call Number: REF GR 74 .F65 2016
      ISBN: 9781610692533

      Cover Art
      World tales for creative dramatics and storytelling - Burdette S. Fitzgerald
      Call Number: Children's Literature Section PZ5 .F56 WO
      Publication Date: 1962

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip