This is the "Library Services" page of the "Information for Faculty" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information for Faculty  

Last Updated: Oct 28, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.cerritos.edu/faculty_information Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Services Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Information

11110 Alondra Blvd., Norwalk, CA 90650
(562) 860-2451

Circulation Desk ext. 2430
Reference Desk ext. 2425

Staff Directory
 

Library Hours

image of open book and globe

FALL & SPRING SEMESTERS

Mon-Thurs
7:30am-9pm

Friday
7:30am-3pm

Sat & Sun
CLOSED

The Library is closed during all college holidays and breaks. See the Library Hours Page for summer hours, holiday closures and other general information.

Library FAQs

 Search or browse our Library FAQs

 

Library Services & Policies for Faculty

book sitting down

Library Card

Faculty and Staff: Cerritos College ID or other valid proof of identification is required for all library transactions.

Material/Book Checkout

Books generally circulate to faculty for one semester with the option to renew. Faculty loans are subject to recall when there are requests for the materials. For information about Circulation call Ext.2423

Return of Materials

Books may be returned to the staff at the Circulation Desk, to the book return slot at the Circulation Desk, or to the outside book returns

Reserves

Faculty may have library materials, as well as items from their personal collections, text books, study guides, test reviews, quizzes, computer disks, photocopied sections from books, etc. placed on reserve for students’ use. 

General Reserve Information

  • When placing material on reserve, please submit in plenty of time, as there is a 3-day processing period
  • A completed Reserve Request Form must accompany all material to be placed on reserve
  • Material is made available for students for a limited checkout period (1 hour, 2 hours, 1 day, 2 days, 8 days)
  • All photocopied material should be ready for processing (stapled and in folders)
  • When placing a personal book on reserve, please make sure the material is in good condition (no loose pages or loose spine, torn pages, mold, etc.) as these books are heavily used.
  • Please be aware that the library processing consists of cataloging, barcoding and stamping of your material.
  • This service is offered by the Library at no charge
  • Call Ext. 2423 or visit the circulation desk with questions

Fines on Reserve Material

  • One hour and two hour reserve materials are fined $.50 per hour
  • One, two and eight day reserve materials are fined $5.00 per day
  • Fines for reserve materials accrue even when the library is closed
  • If reserve materials are lost, the total cost of the materials and overdue fines will be charged
  • Please inform your students that their current school photo ID is required for checkout of all materials

Online Resources

  • The online catalog provides access to all titles in the library’s collection.
  • The library subscribes to over 50 web-based databases which include citations and full-text for journals, general interest periodicals, newspapers, and selected reference works. They are updated regularly and provide coverage in some cases as far back as 1985.
  • To access library databases from off campus: login using your Cerritos College network username and password.
    Please note: Username format =  jdoe (not jdoe@cerritos.edu) 

Interlibrary Loan

Faculty may obtain materials not available in our library by filling out an Interlibrary Loan Request.

Display Cases

Faculty may reserve display cases for limited periods of time to exhibit special materials. Call Ext. 2423

See all Library Policies for Students

 

Your Library Account

You can login into your library account by clicking on the  My Account link on the Library Home Page.

Your USER ID is your Cerritos College ID number. The PASSWORD is 'changeme' for all first time users. 

Once you have logged in, you will be able to see what books you have out and when they're due, place a hold on a book that's checked out, or renew your books.

 If you don't know your Cerritos College ID number, or if you forget your password after you've changed it, ask at Circulation.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip