This is the "Find Books" page of the "How Do I Find a Book?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How Do I Find a Book?  

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.cerritos.edu/find_books Print Guide RSS Updates
Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Where is That Book?


Ever wonder how books are shelved?

In this library we use The Library of Congress Classification System to organize books on the shelves. The LC SYSTEM organizes material in libraries according to twenty-one branches of knowledge called classes. The system uses letters to represent the twenty-one broad branches of knowledge. The letters I, O, W, X AND Y are not used.

 The twenty-one classes are:

A – GENERAL WORKS

B – PHILOSOPHY, PSYCHOLOGY, RELIGION

C – AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY

D – HISTORY: GENERAL & OUTSIDE THE AMERICAS

E – HISTORY: UNITED STATES

F – HISTORY: UNITED STATES LOCAL & AMERICAS

G – GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION

H – SOCIAL SCIENCE

J – POLITICAL SCIENCE

K – LAW

L – EDUCATION

M – MUSIC & BOOKS ON MUSIC

N – FINE ARTS

P – LANGUAGE & LITERATURE

Q – SCIENCE

R – MEDICINE

S – AGRICULTURE

T – TECHNOLOGY

U – MILITARY SCIENCE

V – NAVAL SCIENCE

Z – BIBLIOGRAPHY, LIBRARY SCIENCE & INFORMATION RESOURCES

These twenty-one broad subject areas are further divided into more specific subject areas by adding one or two additional letters as well as some numbers. For a more detailed breakdown of any subject, go to the Library of Congress web page

So, How Do I Find a Book on the Shelf?

Try this exercise, which was put together by the librarians at Lewis-Clark State University, to see if you have figured out the Library of Congress system!

 

Books

Finding Books on Your Topic  walking book

Once you have chosen a topic and done your background research you will be ready to conduct more comprehensive research using books. Books can provide a broad overview of a topic or in-depth information.

Click on the link for the  LIBRARY CATALOG to find books available in the Cerritos College Library.

You can search for books by author, title, subject, or keyword. 

    Electronic Books

    Have you tried Electronic Books for your research? image of books

    Electronic Books or eBooks are simply the digital versions of published print materials. They are available and searchable 24 hours a days, seven days a week. Browse or search one of the Cerritos College Libary eBook collections listed below to access a wide range of research, reference, and reading materials.

    • Most eBooks require login for off-campus use. 
    • Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted. 
    • For more login information see the Database Login page.
    image of clipboard To search for specific eBooks in the library collection: Use the Library Catalog  to search by subject, keyword, author, or title and then, in the left hand column under Material Type, check the box for E-Book and click Include.
    • ABC-CLIO eBooks  Icon
      eBook collection containing encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger. These ebooks complement the library collection of ABC-CLIO databases.
    • eBook Collection from EBSCO
      Access more that 12,700 new books and classic titles or search for eBooks in our catalog by author, title or subject.
    • Ebrary ebook Collection  Icon
      The Ebrary ebook collection from Proquest provides access to scholarly e-books from leading publishers.
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library  Icon
      Provides access to the content of more than 270 reference sources in a database format for multidisciplinary research.
    • Oxford African American Studies Center  Icon
      Provides access to reference sources in African American studies featuring the Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the African American National Biography project; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America; and Africana.
    • Oxford Art Online  Icon
      Comprehensive reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present day.
    • Oxford English Dictionary  Icon
      Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Traces the usage of words through quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, classic literature, and other sources.
    • Oxford Music Online  Icon
      The gateway to music research and the access point for the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Also includes a network of web-links to musical sites around the world.
    • Salem Health  Icon
      Provides online access to Salem Press’ award-winning health reference works. Includes Salem Press’ bestselling Magill’s Medical Guide; Genetics; and more. NOTE: To search the contents of an individual title, navigate to the Search page and click on the desired title.
    • Salem Literature  Icon
      Access the complete content of the Magill’s Literary Annuals (1977-2010); Masterplots; Critical Insights series, and more. NOTE: To search the contents of an individual title, navigate to the Search page and click on the desired title.
    • Salem Science  Icon
      An online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets. NOTE: To search the contents of an individual title, navigate to the Search page and click on the desired title.
    • World Book Encyclopedia  Icon
      Based on the World Book Encyclopedia, the suite includes more than 40,000 articles, 270,000 primary source documents, and 5000 e-books. It also includes a Spanish language encyclopedia, timelines, atlases, dictionaries, web and periodical links, as well as current events and Back in Time articles.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip