This is the "How Do I Find Articles?" page of the "Finding Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Articles  

Last Updated: Oct 8, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.cerritos.edu/finding_articles Print Guide RSS Updates

How Do I Find Articles? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Which One Do I Use?

question mark

Journals?  
Magazines?
Newspapers?

When doing research, it is useful to know what these different publications are and what kind of information they contain.

Journal articles are more scholarly or professional while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general.

• Magazine articles appeal to the general reader and usually have relatively short articles are written in non-technical language are easy to understand

Newspaper articles, while not usually scholarly or professional, can give you the most current news and some additional facts on your topic.

 

What is a Database?

question mark

A library database is both an electronic catalog and the access point to information from published works, such as magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, journals and other resources.

• Library databases provide access to authoritative information sources.

• Library databases provide access to resources across a wide spectrum of topic and subject areas.

• Library databases provide access to many years worth of published information at no cost to students.

• Library databases allow to to limit or expand your search results by using the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT.

• Library databases give you citation information to help you locate and cite the articles.

• Library databases give you an abstract or summary to tell you what the article is about.

• Most Library databases provide articles in full-text or PDF format.

Need help searching?
See our Guide to Database Searching for helpful tips!

    A special note: For historical research, the Library also has print indexes that must be used to find older articles, generally anything published before 1985.

     

       

      Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Articles

      Finding Articles on Your Topic  image of newspaper articles

      Research on a subject is seldom complete without periodical literature - magazines, journals, and newspapers.

      A database is an electronic index used for locating articles. For your research try using one of the online databases listed below. Conduct your search in these databases by using subject headings and keywords similar to those you used to locate books. 

      To access the databases from off campus you will be prompted to enter your Cerritos College User ID and password. For more login information see the Database Login page.

      See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.

      Finding Popular Magazine & Newspaper Artcles

      Listed below are just a few databases where you will find general magazine and newspaper articlesSee the Database Page  for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.

      • MasterFile Premier  Icon  Icon
        EBSCO database that provides full-text for more than 1,700 periodicals and other sources covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science, and more including image collections of photos, maps and flags. Click here for title list.
      • US Newsstream  Icon
        Full-text collection of 1,000 news sources including the Orange County Register and major national newspapers: Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal,Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, the Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Denver Post and USA Today.
      • Newspaper Source Plus  Icon
        EBSCO database that includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
       

      National Newspaper Core: EX. Wall Street Journal

      WALL STREET JOURNAL: Illustrated Newspaper Search.Newspaper Source Core

      Finding Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Articles

      Listed below are just a few databases where you will find scholarly and peer-reiviewed articlesSee the Database Page  for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.

      • Academic Search Premier  Icon  Icon  Icon
        EBSCO database designed specifically for academic institutions, containing multi-disciplinary full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Click here for title list.
      • Project Muse
        Provides access to the full-text to more than 180 scholarly and peer-reviewed journal titles in history, literature, philosophy, religion, theater, music and film, among others.
      • JSTOR  Icon  Icon
        Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources supporting multiple disciplines such as art, art history, architecture, history, language, literature, film, dance, and the performing arts.
      • Science Direct  Icon
        Provides access to more than 890 full-text, peer reviewed health and life sciences journals from Elsevier publishing. Be sure you limit your SOURCE to subscribed sources so you will only see full-text content.
      • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  Icon  Icon
        EBSCO database that provides access to scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, along with abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 additional journals. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with patient education sheets for generic brand name drugs. Click here for title list.
      • PsycARTICLES  Icon
        EBSCO psychology database that contains full-text articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. Click here for title list.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip