Last Updated: Sep 3, 2014
You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument.
- What do I know?
- What can I find out?
Reference resources help you find out more!
Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.
Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.
• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.
• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.
• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.
• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.
Click on one of the handy PDF guides below for a list of all the legal resources available at Cerritos College Library
Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.
See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.
Online reference resources require login for off-campus use. Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted. For more login information see the Database Login page.
some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get
some background information on your topic. These resources are
available on and off campus.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides access to the content of more than 270 reference sources in a database format for multidisciplinary research.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Law
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law
- CQ Weekly
Congressional Quarterly's magazine on government, commerce and politics. Reports on acts of Congress, tracks legislation and floor action, major news events, committees and subcommittees, and backroom maneuvering. Archives date back to 1983.
- Military & Government Collection
EBSCO database designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles. Click here for title list.
Here are some reference books that are located in the library's Reference area. Although they cannot be checked out, students are able to photocopy pages.
Ballentine's Thesaurus for Legal Research and Writing
Call Number: REF KF156 .L96 1994
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition
Call Number: REFDESK KF156 .B53 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-25
Corpus Juris Secundum
Call Number: REF KF154 .C56 - East Wall of Reference
Immigration Law for Paralegals
Call Number: REF KF4819.85 .C375 2010
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Call Number: REF KF240 .E35 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-23
Nolo's Guide to California Law
Call Number: REF KFC81 .G83 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-26
The Oxford Book of Legal Anecdotes
Call Number: REF K183 .O95 1986
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
Call Number: REF KF8742 .A35 O93 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-19
The Paralegal's Handbook
Call Number: REF KF320 .L4 H39 2010
Publication Date: 2010-10-05
Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Names, Federal and State.
Call Number: KFC59 .S52 2010 - East Wall of Reference
Shepard's California Citations
Call Number: KFC59 .S44 - East Wall of Reference
Shepard's California Case Names Citator
Call Number: KFC59 .S433 2008 - East Wall of Reference
Summary of California Law
Call Number: KFC80 .W5 - East Wall of Reference
Using the California Style Manual and the Bluebook
Call Number: REF KFC75 .H45 2000
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
The U. S. Legal System
Call Number: REF KF387 .U15 2004
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
West's California Criminal Law
Call Number: KFC1100 .D35 - East Wall of Reference
Publication Date: 1995-07-01
West's California Jurisprudence 3d : Based on California Statutes and Regulations, and Case Law, State and Federal.
Call Number: KFC80 .C29 - East Wall of Reference