Last Updated: Sep 24, 2012
Thanks to the Community College Library Consortium (CCLC), all the California Community Colleges now have access to many additional EBSCO databases! Here at Cerritos College our total number of EBSCO databases has grown by fifteen! Our selection now includes new subject specific databases in the fields of business, the military, philosophy, psychology, and religion. In addition, ERIC and MEDLINE, two US government resources, are now searchable with the easy-to-use EBSCO interface.
Take these new databases for a test ride now and discover all they have to offer. Or contact Lorraine Gersitz at ext 2414 to schedule an appointment for you or your class. The librarians will be glad to show you how to maximize your searching and find the absolute best resources for your research projects.
- Academic Search Premier
EBSCO database designed specifically for academic institutions, containing multi-disciplinary full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Click here for title list.
- America: History and Life with Full Text
EBSCO database that includes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books. Click here for title list.
- BIR Entertainment
Provides information on about 450,000 music titles and 200,000 DVD/video titles, with more being added regularly. Makes it possible to find music or videos featuring a favorite artist or performer, or a specific genre.
- Business Source Elite
EBSCO business database that provides full text for over 1,000 business publications including information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. Effective 8/1/13 all articles from the Harvard Business Review will become read-only. Click here for title list.
- Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Click here for title list.
EBSCO interface to education-related resources, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
EBSCO interface to the NLM database providing authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- Military & Government Collection
EBSCO database designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles. Click here for title list.
- Newspaper Source Plus
EBSCO database that includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- Professional Development Collection
EBSCO database designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Click here for title list.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
EBSCO database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Offers full text coverage for nearly 400 journals. Click here for title list.
- Regional Business News
EBSCO database that provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
EBSCO database that provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Includes more than 300 full text journals. Click here for title list.
|Check out the most recent additions to the Cerritos College Library databases and electronic resources.
To see a list of all our databases visit our Databases and E-Resources page.
- American Government
ABC-CLIO resource that provides a complete, multifaceted examination of the foundations of our government and political system.
- American Indian Experience
ABC-CLIO resource that provides historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America.
- Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas
ABC-CLIO collection of information on popular culture in America, past and present.
An automatic bibliography and citation maker. Create a Works Cited list instantly.
All of the Library's subscription databases are available from any computer on campus. Remote access to the subscription databases is available to Cerritos College students, faculty, and staff. Remote access requires a login.
- Students: Login using your Cerritos College ID number and password, just as you would login to MyCerritos. You must be currently enrolled in a class.
- Faculty and Staff: Login using your Cerritos College network username and password.
If you have trouble getting into an individual database after you login, please check here for more information.
Tell Us What You Think
- Did you try one of the trial databases and really like it?
- Do you need something that we currently don't have?
We'd like to hear from you so we can provide resources that you need to succeed at Cerritos College. Below are all the ways you can contact us:
Librarians are available during library hours to answer your questions by phone or chat.
(562) 860-2451 x2425