LibGuides: Social Justice and Equity: Reference Books

What Do You Know?

You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument.

Ask yourself:

What do I know?
What can I find out?

Reference resources help you find out more!

Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.

Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.

Quick Tips!

• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.

• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.

• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.

Understanding Your Topic - Where to Look

Reference Sources

Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.

See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

Online reference resources require login for off-campus use. Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted. For more login information see the Database Login page.

Selected Library Reference Sources - Online

Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get some background information on your topic. These resources are available on and off campus.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 270 reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Resource to investigate hot topics and social issues. Contains pro/con viewpoints, background information, statistics, primary sources, news articles, and podcasts.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

Insert video

Affirmative Action: An Encyclopedia
The encyclopedia offers almost 500 entries providing current, basic information on relevant concepts, events, individuals, organizations, statutes, court cases, movements, and ethnic groups. The volumes also contain a series of entries exploring issues of equality and affirmative action in other countries, such as Australia, Brazil, India, and South Africa.
Education in America
Areas covered include an overview of American education; primary, elementary, and secondary schools; public versus private schooling; special education; education of gifted children; testing and achievement of students; national education goals; and "at-risk" students. Discusses colleges and universities; issues such as home schooling, school choice, and vouchers; trends in teacher supply and demand; and public opinions about education.
Encyclopedia of Education
Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities and of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full text source documents, including education related legislation, international treaties, and testing methods. 8 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Contains new and updated original articles covering recent concepts (i.e. adoption, race, the Constitution, birthright citizenship) and court cases since 1992 offering comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework (Supreme Court Justices, Presidents, Cabinet Members, Lawyers, and more). Also covers judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court.
Encyclopedia of Title IX and Sports
Provide an overview of Title IX and its impact on sports to a broad range of readers. The work includes an Intro-uction to Title IX that explains what the law is, how it came to be, what it covers, and its application to high school and college athletics;
Encyclopedia Public Health
Aimed at the nonspecialist reader interested in health and medicinal issues, the Encyclopedia examines a broad range of topics such as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics and diseases. Includes overviews, definitions and biographical entries. appropriate for upper class high school and university students, professionals and the general public. 4 volumes.

How to Use Gale eBooks

How to Use Issues and Controversies

The Thesis Statement

Although you probably started with only a broad idea of what you wanted to write about, after testing your topic and doing background reading you should be able to narrow your focus and write your thesis statement. Here are two examples of narrowing a broad topic to come up with a thesis statement:

Education and equity

Major equity issue in school is financial differences.
- Those who come from a family of a lower socioeconomic status are less likely to have less opportunities for a better education.
  - Lower socioeoconomic students must have support and access to greater resources to enhance their educational skills.

Sex discrimination

Discrimination against women in the workplace
- Women are given fewer opportunities for advancement in the workplace.

Although all women come up against the "glass ceiling" it is worse for women who are mothers vs those who are not.