ENG 103 - Professor Stavast - COVID 19 - Psychological Effects: Understand
Your Topic

You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument. 

Ask yourself:

• What do I know?
• What can I find out?

Reference resources help you find out more!

Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.

Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.

• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.

• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.

• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.

Here are a few library resources to help you gather background information for your topic:

Reference Sources  

Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.

See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

Online reference resources require login for off-campus use.  Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted.  For more login information see the Database Login page.

Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get some background information on your topic.  These resources are available on and off campus.

Helpful Videos on Searching These Databases

Although you probably started with only a broad idea of what you wanted to write about, after testing your topic and doing background reading you should be able to narrow your focus and write your thesis statement. Here are two examples of narrowing a broad topic to come up with a thesis statement:

COVID-19 and Teenagers (Adolescents)

• During the COVID-19 pandemic adolescents have experienced symptoms of insomnia, depressive and anxiety.
  • More attention should be paid to psychological health among adolescents while combating COVID-19.
    • To promote adolescent's mental health, educators should put in place lessons to teach students how to share their emotions and develop a healthy lifestyle.

COVID-19 and College/University Age Population            

• More than half of all college/university students in the United States have experienced high levels of psychological impact from the COVID-19 pandemic. 
  • College/university students are recognized as a vulnerable population, suffering from higher levels of anxiety, depression, substance abuse, and disordered eating compared to the general population.
    • College/university students have been among the most strongly affected by COVID-19 because of uncertainty regarding academic success, future careers and social life during college.
      • Colleges/universities need to acknowledge the significant toll the pandemic is taking on the mental health of college students.  They also need to allocate time and resources to address it.