Black Lives Matter: Understand
Your Topic

You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument. 

Ask yourself:

• What do I know?
• What can I find out?

Reference resources help you find out more!

Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.

Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.

• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.

• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.

• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.

Here are a few library resources to help you gather background information for your topic:

Reference Sources  

Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.

See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

Online reference resources require login for off-campus use.  Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted.  For more login information see the Database Login page.

Here are some online sources available off and on campus which can help you get background information on your topic.  

Here are some books located in the library's Reference area. Although they cannot be checked out, students are able to photocopy pages.

Although you probably started with only a broad idea of what you wanted to write about, after testing your topic and doing background reading you should be able to narrow your focus and write your thesis statement. Here is an example of narrowing a broad topic to come up with a thesis statement:

Black Lives Matter and police brutality

• Blacks and whites in relation to treatment by police  
  •  Blacks are more than twice as likely as whites to be killed by a police officer 
    • Although all races matter, Blacks need an organization that will help them combat a long history of systemic racism and persecution.

Racial Profiling and police policy

• The Effects of profiling on society  
  • Profiling produces a society in which some races are more privileged than others.  
    • Police policy must be altered not only to ensure that Blacks are given equal respect, but also to enable the Nation as a whole to heal.