Articles - SPAN 245 - Chicano/Mexican American Culture - Flores

Background Info

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 270 reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO research tool for Latino American history and culture.

Aztlan Journal

Aztlan
Aztlán: A Journal of Chicano Studies presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. An interdisciplinary, refereed journal, Aztlán focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, supplemented by thematic pieces in the dossier section, an artist's communiqué, a review section, and an editorial commentary from the editor, Aztlán seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.

Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database. Great for research on human behavior, societies, and organizations. Full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, more than 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's multidisciplinary, full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Covers current and historical topics. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources supporting multiple disciplines such as art, art history, architecture, history, language, literature, film, dance, and the performing arts.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text to more than 180 scholarly and peer-reviewed journal titles in history, literature, philosophy, religion, theater, music and film, among others.
Los Angeles Times - Historical 1881-2014 This link opens in a new window
This database gives you access to full text Los Angeles Times articles from 1881 to 2014. You can find fulltext of the LA Times form 1980 to the present in the database called U.S. Major Dailies.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of twenty-one major US newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage from 1980 - present.

SPAN 245 - Chicano/Mexican American Culture - Flores: Articles

Finding Articles about Chicanos/Mexican Americans

Background Info

Aztlan Journal

Journal Articles