Astronomy 106 - History of Astronomy: Understand
Your Topic

• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.

• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.

• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.

Here are a few library resources to help you gather background information for your topic:

Reference Sources  

Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.

See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

Online reference resources require login for off-campus use.  Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted.  For more login information see the Database Login page.

Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get some background information on your topic.  These resources are available on and off campus.

Here are some reference books that are located in the library's Reference area. Although they cannot be checked out, students are able to photocopy pages.

Although you probably started with only a broad idea of what you wanted to write about, after testing your topic and doing background reading you should be able to narrow your focus and write your thesis statement. Here are two examples of narrowing a broad topic to come up with a thesis statement:

Earth as Center of Solar System

• Geocentrism vs. Heliocentrism
  • Geocentrism was difficult to prove mathematically by scientists before the 16th century.
    • Nicolaus Copernicus developed a mathematical system in the 16th century proving the Heliocentrict System.

The Great Comet of 1577

• Influences of comet C/1577 V1 on history.
  •  The Great Comet of 1577 influenced discoveries relating to objects Earth's atmosphere.
    • Comet C/1577 V1, The Great Comet of 1577, was viewed by people all over Europe, including famous astronomer Tycho  Brahe.