ART108 / HUM108 - Black Images in Popular Culture: Your Assignment

For Your Reference (Per Assignment):

Many museums produce press releases for their exhibitions, these can be useful resources as you craft your proposal and presentation. Check out the website for the California African American Museum, for example. You will find an informational video and many short summaries of forthcoming exhibitions. Read through to see how they discuss the scope and purpose of each exhibit. Likewise, other museums in town such as LACMA, the Hammer Museum at UCLA, our gallery here at Cerritos, and more summarize their exhibitions and map out their comprehensive programming for each exhibit on their website.

• African American Odyssey: Library of Congress: This Special Presentation of the Library of Congress exhibition, The African-American Odyssey: A Quest for Full Citizenship, showcases the Library's incomparable African-American collections. The presentation was not only a highlight of what is on view in this major black history exhibition, but also a glimpse into the Library's vast African-American collections. Both include a wide array of important and rare books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, films, and recordings.
• Amistad Digital Resource Center: "...it is this notion that movements can and will change the world we live in that makes the legacy of the African American freedom movement so important. How can these tales of resistance and of mobilization for change inform the way that we move toward a more equitable world? What are the struggles that still exist? These are the questions that we hope this resource will raise in the classroom."

• Black Past: Remembered & Reclaimed: "This 10,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history in the United States and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world. It includes an online encyclopedia of hundreds of famous and lesser known figures in African American history, Global African history and specifically the history of African Americans in the West."

• Black Visual Archive (BVA):Black Visual Archive (BVA) is dedicated to the documentation and review of contemporary black and post-black visual culture. Founded in 2010 by Meg Onli, BVA is a collection of critical writings that contextualizes the work of African American artists through historical and visual history.

• Google Arts & Culture: Black History and Culture: Discover thousands of artworks, artifacts and stories from cultural organizations across the United States. Explore 6761 images, artifacts and more; online exhibits, and virtual tours of historic sites.

• Jim Crow Museum of Racist Memorabilia:"Using Objects of Intolerance to Teach Tolerance and Promote Social Justice"

• Now Dig This!: Art and Black Los Angeles, 1960-1980:Digital archive of the exhibition that chronicled the vital legacy of the city's African American artists. View art and themes from the exhibit, read biographies of the featured artists, and essays from the exhibit catalogue.

• Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture: The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, a research unit of The New York Public Library, is generally recognized as one of the leading institutions of its kind in the world. For over 80 years the Center has collected, preserved, and provided access to materials documenting black life, and promoted the study and interpretation of the history and culture of peoples of African descent.

• The History Makers: The History Makers is a national, 501(c)(3) non-profit educational institution committed to preserving, developing and providing easy access to an internationally recognized archival collection of thousands of African American video oral histories.

• Image of the Black Archive & Library Hutchins Center: Spanning nearly 5,000 years and documenting virtually all forms of media, the Image of the Black Archive & Library is an unprecedented research project devoted to the systematic investigation of how people of African descent have been perceived and represented in art.