Skip to Main Content

Database Tutorial: Gale: Tutorial Videos

GALE Interface Tutorials for the following GALE databases: Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale eBooks) | Opposing Viewpoints in Context | GALE Literature Sources |

Gale - Background

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library 
Click Button to navigate to Database:

Gale eBooks

(Formerly named: Gale Virtual Reference Library): Contains Encyclopedias, Almanacs, reference sources on multidisciplinary research.

Good background research

GALE Opposing View Points 
Click Button to navigate to Database:

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Features continuously updated viewpoint articles covering hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

Good Trend Analysis: Pro/Con

Gale Literary Sources 
Click Button to navigate to Database:

Gale Literature

Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of world authors and their works from every age and literary discipline.

Includes sources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

 

 

GALE eBooks - Tutorial Videos

"Gale eBooks  - Search Tips (Pdf-Handout)"

Gale eBooks - Quick Intro Search

A general overview of Gale eBooks (ClosedCaption)

Browsing Titles - Gale eBooks (ClosedCaption)

Tools: CITE - Gale eBooks (ClosedCaption)

GALE Opposing Viewpoints - Tutorial Videos

GALE Literature

Sources - Gale

Tutorial Videos Useful?

Tutorial Videos Useful?
YES - I feel confident to navigate the GALE Virtual Reference Library (GALE eBooks) Interface. OR: 20 votes (80%)
YES - I feel confident to navigate the GALE Opposing Viewpoints in Context Interface. OR: 0 votes (0%)
YES - I feel confident to navigate the GALE Artemis - Literary Sources Interface. OR: 2 votes (8%)
NO - I think I need a Library class instruction.: 3 votes (12%)
NO - I need to Chat or make an Appointment with a librarian.: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 25

Gale Training Videos

Accessing the Library Databases

All of the Library's subscription databases are available from any computer on campus. Simply click on Research Databases from the Library Homepage to see a complete list and description of our databases.

Remote access to the subscription databases is available to Cerritos College students, faculty, and staff. Remote access requires a login.

  • Click on the name of the database you wish to use.
  • You'll be asked to login at that time.

Students: Login using your Cerritos College ID number and password, just as you would login to the campus network. You must be currently enrolled in a class. Your password is your DOB unless you changed it.  Format is MMDDYYYY.

Faculty and Staff: Login using your Cerritos College network username and password.
Please note: Username format =  jdoe (not jdoe@cerritos.edu)

General Library Contact Information

11110 Alondra Blvd., Norwalk, CA 90650
(562) 860-2451
Circulation Desk ext. 2424
Reference Desk ext. 2425

Talk to a Librarian

Need Help 

 

The Cerritos College Librarians can help you with your research in a variety of ways:

Librarians are available during library hours to answer your questions by phone or chat.
(562) 860-2451 x2425

GALE Menu - Cerritos College Library

GALE Resource Menu

African American History

A collection of reference books in eBook format covering a range of topics related to African American History.

Gale Directory Library

Search, sort, and export a variety of information from multiple premier directories. Best for researchers and marketers.

Gale eBooks

Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.

Gale Literary Index

Search this digital master index to find coverage of authors and works in products published by Gale.

Gale Literature Criticism

Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.

Gale Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.

Hispanic Heritage

A collection of reference books in eBook format covering a range of topics related to Hispanic Heritage.

Literary Sources Subcollection

These books are searched via Literacy Sources databases.

Native American Heritage

A collection of reference books in eBook format covering a range of topics related to Native American Heritage.

    
Cerritos College Library | 11110 Alondra Blvd., Norwalk, CA 90650 | 562-860-2451 | Reference ext 2425 | Circulation ext 2424