LibGuides: Dental Hygiene: Find Articles

Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Articles

Finding Articles on Your Topic image of newspaper articles

Research on a subject is seldom complete without magazines, journals, and newspapers. You can find these articles in databases.

A database is a collection of information. Most of the library's databases are electronic indexes, or lists, used to locate articles. You search these databases by typing in keywords. If you have a hard time getting the articles you want or don't know what database to use, Chat with a Librarian and we'll help you.

To access the databases from off campus you will be prompted to enter your Cerritos College User ID and password. For more login information see the Database Login page.

See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.

Useful Databases

Use the following databases to find articles that are most relevant to your topic. The first four databases on this list are great for peer-reviewed articles. The last two on the list are great for popular articles. See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.

Remember:

Always search databases using only the keywords that best describe your topic
Keywords can be combined into a search string with the operators "and", "or", "not"

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source This link opens in a new window
Contains information about dentistry, including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. Click here for title list.
Lexidrug Online for Dentistry This link opens in a new window
Provides information about medication interactions and allergies specific to the dental setting. Includes VisualDX Oral, a computer-assisted lesion diagnosis tool.
Mobile apps available to faculty in dental hygiene and dental assisting programs. Ask your department chair or Stephanie Rosenblatt at the Cerritos College Library for details.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals, 275 books/monographs, and indexing for more than 5,000 journals and 3.2 million records dating back to 1937. Also included are searchable cited references for more than 1,360 journals 130 evidence-based care sheets,170 quick lessons, 360 research instrument records and 160 CEUs. Click here for title list.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. NOTE: Remote access to free content does not require a login.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 890 full-text, peer reviewed health and life sciences journals from Elsevier publishing. Be sure you limit your SOURCE to subscribed sources so you will only see full-text content.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, along with abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 additional journals. Also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with patient education sheets for generic brand name drugs. Click here for title list.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Contains education research and other materials collected by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. More than 1.3 million records and more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides consumer health information covering topics in the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Features full-text for nearly 130 journals. Click here for title list.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. Includes issues back to 1997.