LibGuides: Human Nature: Understand Your Topic

What Do You Know?

You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument.

Ask yourself:

What do I know?
What can I find out?

Reference resources help you find out more!

Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.

Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.

Quick Tips!

• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.

• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.

• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.

Quick Links

Here are a few library resources to help you gather background information for your topic:

A-Z Research Guides
An A-Z list of all research guides created by Cerritos College Librarians.

Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Resource to investigate hot topics and social issues. Contains pro/con viewpoints, background information, statistics, primary sources, news articles, and podcasts.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 270 reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Understanding Your Topic - Where to Look

Reference Sources

Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.

See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

Online reference resources require login for off-campus use. Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted. For more login information see the Database Login page.

Selected Library Reference Sources - Online

Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get some background information on your topic. These resources are available on and off campus.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 270 reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics.
This Encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
English-language reference source for philosophy," has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
A multidisciplinary approach that addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world's religions, reaching into the humanities as well as into the physical sciences and technology. Examines controversial issues such as human cloning and stem cell research long with more traditional questions such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion.

Selected Library Reference Sources - Print

Here are some reference books that are located in the library's Reference area. Although they cannot be checked out, students are able to photocopy pages.

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead (Editor); Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF31 .E52 2001
ISBN: 9780471240990
Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence by Robert J. Sternberg (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF431 .E59 1994
ISBN: 9780028974071
Handbook of Emotions by Michael Lewis (Editor); Jeannette M. Haviland-Jones (Editor); Lisa Feldman Barrett (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF561 .H35 2008
ISBN: 9781593856502
The Handbook of Life-Span Development by William Damon; Richard M. Lerner (Editor); Willis F. Overton (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF713 .H3648 2010
ISBN: 9780470390115
Mental Illness by Greenhaven Press Staff; Noah Berlatsky (Editor)
Call Number: HV 3004.B46 2015
ISBN: 9780737775129
Proverbs of Africa : human nature in the Nigerian oral tradition ; an exposition and analysis of 2,600 proverbs from 64 peoples by Pachocinski, Ryszard
Call Number: REF PN6519.I33 P33 1996
ISBN: 1885118015
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig (Editor)
Call Number: REF B51 .R68 1998
ISBN: 9780415073103

The Thesis Statement

Although you probably started with only a broad idea of what you wanted to write about, after testing your topic and doing background reading you should be able to narrow your focus and write your thesis statement. Here are two examples of narrowing a broad topic to come up with a thesis statement:

Human Nature

Factors shaping human nature
- Roots of human nature are found in genetics
  - Human thought and action both good and evil are instincts based in biology.

Human Nature

Future of Human Nature
- Positive characteristics of Human Nature can survive adversity.
  - Human nature can grow stronger in the face of a violent society.