Geology of the Western National Parks: Reference
Resources

You probably already know a little something about America's National Parks, but it's important to find out more in order to really understand the nature and geology of these great natural resources. 

Ask yourself:

• What do I know?
• What can I find out?

Reference resources help you find out more!

• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.

• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.

• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.

Reference Sources  

Joshua Tree

Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are a good starting point for your research on America's National Parks because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.

See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print.  Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

Online reference resources require login for off-campus use.  Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted.  For more login information see the Database Login page.

Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get some background information on America's national parks.  Look for the term "national parks" or the individual park name.

Here are some books that are located in the library's Reference area. Although they cannot be checked out, students are able to photocopy pages.