Legal Research & Resources: Encyclopedias &
Finding Aids

Click on one of the handy PDF guides below for a list of all the legal resources available at Cerritos College Library

Below is a short list of some of the resources available in the library.  For a full list of legal resources use one of the PDF guides in the left column.

  Legal Encyclopedias

American Justice. Joseph M. Bessette. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1996.

• Reference Stacks KF154 .A44 1996

California Criminal Law. 3^rd ed. B.E. Witkin. San Francisco: The Institute, 2000.  

• East Wall of Reference Stacks—Law Collection KFC1100 .W5 2000

Corpus Juris Secundum: A Complete Restatement of the Entire American Law as Developed by All Reported Cases. St. Paul, MN: West Pub. Co., 1936-.

• North Wall of Reference Stacks—Law Collection KF154 .C56

This set can also lead you to cases decided in courts throughout the U.S. Vol. 1-101a + index.

Summary of California Law. B.E. Witkin. San Francisco: Witkin Legal Institute, 2005.  

• East Wall of Reference Stacks—Law Collection KFC80 .W5 2005 

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law.  B.E. Witkin. San Francisco: Witkin Legal Institute, 2011.

• Reference Stacks KF154 .W47 2011 

West's Encyclopedia of American Law. 2^nd ed.  Jeffrey Lehman. Detroit: Thomson/Gale, 2005. 

• Reference Stacks KF154 .W47 2005 

  Legal Dictionaries

Black's Law Dictionary. 9^th ed. St. Paul, MN: Thomas/West, 2009.

• Ask at Reference Desk KF156 .B53 2009

A Dictionary of Modern Legal Reference Usage. 2^nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.

• Reference Stacks  KF156 .G367 2001 

  Legal Thesaurus

Burton's Legal Thesaurus. 4th ed. William C. Burton. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2007.

• Reference Stacks KF156 .B856 2007