You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument.
Ask yourself:
Reference resources help you find out more!
Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.
Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.
• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.
• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.
• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.
• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.
Here are a few library resources to help you gather background information for your topic:
Hacker Culture, Tech World, Artificial Intelligence, Gaming and more
Reference Sources 
Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.
See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.
Online reference resources require login for off-campus use. Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted. For more login information see the Database Login page.
Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get some background information on your topic. These resources are available on and off campus.
Here are some reference books that are located in the library's Reference area. Although they cannot be checked out, students are able to photocopy pages (Hover mouse on 
for further description):.
Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics
In the 80 years since gaining the right to vote, women have continued to make their political voices heard. This is the first comprehensive work to describe the political struggles and achievements of American women, who were historically underrepresented in a system dominated by men. Containing over 700 entries in an A-to-Z format, this single volume provides balanced coverage of the people, issues, and events that shape any discussion of women in U.S. politics.
Women in Politics
This volume explores issues related to women in politics, including whether women have made gains in U.S. politics, the status of women in world politics, whether women's participation in politics improves politics and how women can be encouraged to participate in politics. Each chapter asks a relevant question about the topic, and the viewpoints that follow are grouped into "yes" and "no" categories. This format provides readers with a concise view of different opinions on each topic. Contains an extensive bibliography.
Male and Female Roles
This collection of essays provides readers with various perspectives on the individual roles of men and women. Across four chapters, readers will evaluate whether male and female roles are biologically derived, what the cultural effects of these roles are, whether gender stereotypes impact perceptions of men and women, and what gender roles will be like in the future. Essayist Chris Nutter reports that men are becoming more like women, while another essay claims the opposite. Elayne Boosler claims the U.S. is ready for a female president while another essaysit states that it is not. Issues are richly debated, allowing readers to develop their own intelligent opinions about male and female roles.
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender : Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender
The study of gender differences began in earnest in the 1970s and has since increased dramatically to infiltrate virtually all fields of study in the social and behavioral sciences. Along the way, it was discovered that while women very often think and behave differently than do men, industrialized societies cater to masculine perspectives. The "Psychology of Women" emerged as a field of study focusing on just those areas in which women most often butted against assumed roles. And similarly, in the 1990s, the "Psychology of Men" emerged to focus on the same issues for men.
American Masculinities : A Historical Encyclopedia
The encyclopedia--in more than 250 articles--analyzes American manhood through historical eras and events; sexuality and the body; cultural icons and symbols; attitudes and behaviors; work and leisure; institutions and organizations; controversial issues and movements; key figures; family and the life cycle; literature, film, theater, and art; theories and concepts; and identities based on race, ethnicity, class, age, and region. Each entry includes suggestions for further reading and a list of other articles with additional information on a topic.
Wimmin, Wimps & Wallflowers: An Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Gender and Sexual Orientation Bias in the United States
This title takes on terms and expressions that malign gender or sexual orientation, or create controversy and confusion. Many of the words or expressions in this dictionary are recognizeable at once for their bias, others are words we often use without realizing their underlying meaning or without knowing how their meanings have been twisted to suit the purposes of those who demean others. The expressions shed light on how our lives are shaped by learned notions of gender and sexual orientation - in particular, how words are used to put some groups down and privilege others.
Feminism
This volume discusses issues related to feminism. Through a balanced collection of articles from a variety of sources, this book explores the state of feminism in the 21st century, the impact of recent political contests on American feminism, the role religion plays in feminism, and how women's sexuality and reproductive rights are affected by feminism. Essay sources include Christina Hoff Sommers, Amy Siskind, Amanda Fortini, and Rebecca Traister.
Women, War, and Violence
This set of original articles probes the breadth of vital issues surrounding the impact of war and violence on women globally--and examines what is being done to mitigate their effects.
* Provides a comprehensive overview of issues related to women, war, civil unrest, sexual assault, and violence
* Tackles a wide range of topics using multiple perspectives from ethnography to scholarly analysis to on-the-ground journalism
* Examines the tragic contours of the problem but also depicts hope for the future via the creative solutions being forged, especially by women empowered to counter violence
* Explores best practices of violence prevention from United Nations and state-sponsored programs as well as from movements within civil society
* Includes case studies from key conflict zones to further the understanding of the issues discussed
Although you probably started with only a broad idea of what you wanted to write about, after testing your topic and doing background reading you should be able to narrow your focus and write your thesis statement. Here are two examples of narrowing a broad topic to come up with a thesis statement:
Women's Political Power
Eating Disorders
