LibGuides: Library Skills Workshops in the Library Computer Lab: Learn About Library Databases

What is a Database?

A library database is both an electronic catalog and the access point to information from published works, such as magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, journals and other resources.

• Library databases provide access to authoritative information sources.

• Library databases provide access to resources across a wide spectrum of topic and subject areas.

• Library databases provide access to many years worth of published information at no cost to students.

• Library databases allow you to to limit or expand your search results by using the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT.

• Library databases give you citation information to help you locate and cite the articles.

• Library databases give you an abstract or summary to tell you what the article is about.

• Most Library databases provide articles in full-text or PDF format.

Library Databases A-Z

All of the Library's databases are available from any computer on campus. Remote access to the databases is available to Cerritos College students, faculty, and staff.

Remote access requires that you login.

Students: Login using your Cerritos College ID number and password, just as you would login to the campus network. You must be currently enrolled in a class.

Faculty and Staff: Login using your Cerritos College network username and password.

Click Here to link to the Library's DATABASES A-Z:

What are Databases and Why You Need Them

Library Databases vs. Search Engines

	Library Databases (Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, PROQUEST)	The Web (Google, Bing, Yahoo)
Access	Information is stable. Through the library, current students have 24/7 access and for free.	Information lives and dies on the Web. Scholarly information may exist but you usually have to pay to access it.
Search Features	Numerous search features, e.g. limiting by publication type, date, searching using subject terms, and more.	Varies by search engine, but often limited.
Number of Results	Dozens to hundreds of results, more manageable.	Millions of results, overwhelming.
Relevance	Focus by subject (art, business, history) and/or format (journals, books, videos). More relevant information from quality sources.	Lack of subject focus. Credible information exists alongside misinformation and opinion. No gatekeepers.
Authority	Easy to determine. Many databases allow you to limit results to scholarly/peer-reviewed literature.	Information can come from anyone with Internet access. Difficult to verify authority. Can't limit to scholarly literature.