Find Articles - ENG 103 - Critical & Argumentative Writing - Professor Walker

What is a scholarly journal article?

What is a Database?

A library database is both an electronic catalog and the access point to information from published works, such as magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, journals and other resources.

• Library databases provide access to authoritative information sources.

• Library databases provide access to resources across a wide spectrum of topic and subject areas.

• Library databases provide access to many years worth of published information at no cost to students.

• Library databases allow you to to limit or expand your search results by using the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT.

• Library databases give you citation information to help you locate and cite the articles.

• Library databases give you an abstract or summary to tell you what the article is about.

• Most Library databases provide articles in full-text or PDF format.

Useful Databases

There are many more databases than those listed below. See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources. You will need to log in to the databases using your student ID number and your password is you 8-digit birthday (MMDDYYYY).

Remember:

Always search databases using only the keywords that best describe your topic
Keywords can be combined into a search string with the operators "and", "or", "not"

MasterFile Complete, Academic Search Complete, and SocINDEX with Full Text all come from the company (EBSCO) and are searched in the same way. It is possible to search all three of them at once if you like. MasterFile Complete has more popular articles than the two databases. Academic Search Complete has some popular, but more scholarly articles and SocINDEX has almost exclusively academic articles related to sociology.

MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text for more than 2,400 magazines and journals, 850 reference books, and more than 73,000 primary source documents covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science, and more including image collections of photos, maps and flags.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database. Great for research on human behavior, societies, and organizations. Full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, more than 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books. Click here for title list.

US Major Dailies, Ethnic NewsWatch, and Gender Watch all come from the same company and can be searched in the same way. It is possible to search all three of them at once if you like. US Major Dailies contains exclusively articles from large, U.S. newspapers. Newspaper articles are considered popular articles. Ethnic NewsWatch indexes news sources that come from ethnic communities like La Opinion or The Sentinel. There is only a little scholarly content in Ethnic NewsWatch. GenderWatch has primarily scholarly articles. This is a good database to search if you are searching topics related to gender or LGBTQ issues.

US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of twenty-one major US newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage from 1980 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's multidisciplinary, full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Covers current and historical topics. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.

ENG 103 - Critical & Argumentative Writing - Professor Walker: Find Articles

What is a scholarly journal article?

What is a Database?

Useful Databases

How to Find Articles in Ebsco Databases