Factory Farming: Understand
Your Topic

You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument. 

Ask yourself:

• What do I know?
• What can I find out?

Reference resources help you find out more!

Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.

Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.

• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.

• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.

• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.

Reference Sources  

Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.

See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

Online reference resources require login for off-campus use.  Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted.  For more login information see the Database Login page.

Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get some background information on your topic.  These resources are available on and off campus.

Here are some reference books that are located in the library's Reference area. Although they cannot be checked out, students are able to photocopy pages.

Although you probably started with only a broad idea of what you wanted to write about, after testing your topic and doing background reading you should be able to narrow your focus and write your thesis statement. Here are two examples of narrowing a broad topic to come up with a thesis statement:

Factory farming

• Factory farming is unhealthy for the environment. The waste from factory farms has contributed to water pollu - tion; large-scale beef farming has produced vast quanti - ties of methane that damages the ozone layer. Factory farming also erodes topsoil at an alarming rate
  
  MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
  Trapp, Robert, and International Debate Education Association. The Debatabase Book : A Must-Have Guide for Successful Debate. Vol. 3rd ed, International Debate Education Association, 2007.
  
  APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
  Trapp, R., & International Debate Education Association. (2007). The Debatabase Book : A Must-have Guide for Successful Debate: Vol. 3rd ed. International Debate Education Association.
  Factory farming is unhealthy for the environment. The waste from factory farms has contributed to water pollu - tion; large-scale beef farming has produced vast quanti - ties of methane that damages the ozone layer. Factory farming also erodes topsoil at an alarming rate
  
  MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
  Trapp, Robert, and International Debate Education Association. The Debatabase Book : A Must-Have Guide for Successful Debate. Vol. 3rd ed, International Debate Education Association, 2007.
  
  APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
  Trapp, R., & International Debate Education Association. (2007). The Debatabase Book : A Must-have Guide for Successful Debate: Vol. 3rd ed. International Debate Education Association.
  | Factory farming is unhealthy for the environment
  
  MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
  Trapp, Robert, and International Debate Education Association. The Debatabase Book : A Must-Have Guide for Successful Debate. Vol. 3rd ed, International Debate Education Association, 2007.
  
  APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
  Trapp, R., & International Debate Education Association. (2007). The Debatabase Book : A Must-have Guide for Successful Debate: Vol. 3rd ed. International Debate Education Association.
  Factory farming is unhealthy for the environment.
  • The waste from factory farms has contributed to serious threats to regional air and water. 
    • Because the widespread existence of factory farms post-dates our nation's environmental laws, they remain largely exempt from emissions regulation. Environmental Protection Agency, the states, and environmental groups should adovocate new regulations concerning pollution from factory farms.

Animal Rights

• Animal rights for farm animals
  • Animal rights for poultry
  • Poultry should not live in cages.  Poultry should have a right to live in a free range environment in order to avoid injuries and health issues.