Find Books - ENG 100 - Using Online Resources for Social Issues - Professor Granillo - Fall 20

Ebooks in the Library Catalog

Use the Library Catalog to search for electronic books by subject, keyword, author, or title.

refine search results by Availability and select Available Online
further refine the results by Resource Type and select Books

Finding Ebooks in the Library Catalog

Ebook Databases

The Cerritos College Library subscribes to several electronic book databases. Although most of the collection of electronic books appear in the library catalog, the databases can also be searched using the keywords or search strings of your choice.

ABC-CLIO eBooks This link opens in a new window
eBook collection containing encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger. These ebooks complement the library collection of ABC-CLIO databases.
eBook Collection from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Access more that 12,700 new books and classic titles or search for eBooks in our catalog by author, title or subject.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 270 reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Proquest Ebooks Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular ebooks.

Books

Finding Books on Your Topic

Once you have chosen a topic and done your background research you will be ready to conduct more comprehensive research using books.

Use the Library Catalog to find books. Books can provide a broad overview of a topic or in-depth information. You can search for books by author, title, subject, or keyword.

Use the following terms to search by SUBJECT or KEYWORD for books on your topic:

Social problems
Social movements
Social psychology
Social conditions

or search for a specific social issue:

poverty
homelessness
hunger
AIDS
healthcare
population
education
welfare
unemployment
gender equity
global warming
racial profiling
women's rights
electronic surveillance

Selected Electronic Books on Specific topics

Here are Ebooks available electronically on a few important social issues.

PLEASE NOTE: This list is by no means conclusive. There are MANY more social issues and the library has books on most.

The Use and Abuse of Police Power in America: Historical Milestones and Current Controversies by Gina Robertiello (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9781440843730
Publication Date: 2017-05-12
This book provides a timely and much-needed investigation of how U.S. law enforcement carries out its public safety and crime fighting mandates.
All In
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9781943859603
Illuminates the debates over gambling's expansion, the failed attempts to thwart legalized betting, and the consequences of its present pervasiveness in the United States.
Coming on Strong
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9780252039553
Detailed history of women's sport and the struggles over gender, sexuality, race, class, and policy that have often defined it.
Confronting the Climate Challenge
ISBN: 9780231179027
Presents a framework for evaluating the impacts of a range of U.S. climate-policy options, both for the economy overall and for particular household groups, industries, and regions.
Cybercrime
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9780737774214
Explores cybercrime with essays which discuss the impact of cybercrime on national security and internet users.
Domestic Surveillance
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9780737774344
Provides a concise view of divergent opinions on the issue.
Doping in Sports
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9781467761482
The author uncovers the shadowy world of athletes who dope, the people and organizations that help them, and the scientists and officials committed to stopping them.
Facebook Society
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9780231182720
The author takes Facebook as a starting point to investigate our social-media society—and its insidious consequences for our concept of the self.
Issues in U. S. Immigration
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 1619257084
Offers an innovative approach to the study of immigration in American history, including such topics as border control, issues, illegal immigration, and stereotypes.
Media Messages
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9781317464938
While focused on the impact of television, feature film, and popular music, the authors reach far beyond media to explore how our understanding, values, and beliefs about race, class, gender and sexual orientation are constructed.
Policing and Race in America
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9781498550918
This collection of essays discuss how the relationship between police and minority groups affects politics, the economy, and minority groups' daily lives and success.
Privacy and Security in the Digital Age
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9781534500327
Provides a concise view of divergent opinions on this issue.
The Rise of Victimhood Culture
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9783319703282
Offers a framework for understanding recent moral conflicts at U.S. universities, which have bled into society at large, from campus riots over conservative speakers and debates around free speech.
The Routledge Handbook of Gender and Violence
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9781315612997
Provides a comprehensive overview of the latest research in the field of gender and violence.
Social Media Freaks
Call Number: Electronic Book - Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9780813350660
The Wage Gap
Call Number: Electronic Book – Click on the title for access
ISBN: 9780737768930
Covers the history of women's wages, the differences between men's and women's wages that still exist, and efforts to close the gap.