LibGuides: Researching Controversial Issues: Gathering Information

Find News and Research Articles

Listed below are some databases where you will find articles.

Remember:

Always search databases using only the keywords that best describe your topic
Keywords can be combined into a search string with the operators "and" , "or", "not"

If you cannot find the right information in these databases, you might need to select a different one.

You can see all of our databases on our Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject lists.

If you feel overwhelmed and don't know where to look, chat/Zoom with a librarian and we will help you pick the best database for researching your issue.

US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of twenty-one major US newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage from 1980 - present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.

Good Sources for Statistics

Use the government sources below to find statistics related to your controversial issue.

Other potential sources of statistics are:

city and town websites
newspaper articles
reports created by non-profits such as the Pew Research Center
universities
scholarly/research articles
books

If you are going to use a non-governmental source for statistics, it's important to understand how the statistics were collected. You should also consider the purpose of the organization that gathered the statistics so you identify any potential bias the organization might have. Are the statistics meant to inform the public or misinform the public?

Statistical Abstracts of the United States 2013-present This link opens in a new window
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

FedStats
FedStats This link opens in a new window
FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capabilities to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.
Census Bureau Data
The United States Census Bureau, officially the Bureau of the Census, is a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System, responsible for producing data about the American people and economy.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
National Center for Education Statistics
The purpose of the National Center for Education Statistics' website is to provide clear, complete information about NCES' mission and activities, and to serve the research, education and other interested communities.
California Government Search
Search for statistics for California. Make sure you use the term statistics in your keyword search. For example: crime AND statistics
LA County Open Data Portal
Portal to search data collected and managed by county agencies.

Researching Controversial Issues: Gathering Information

How to search article databases

Find News and Research Articles

Good Sources for Statistics