LibGuides: Biography of a Person with a Disability: Books about the disability

Finding Books on Your Topic

Once you have chosen a topic and done your background research you will be ready to conduct more comprehensive research using books.

Use the Library Catalog to find books. Books can provide a broad overview of a topic or in-depth information. You can search for books by author, title, subject, or keyword.

EXAMPLE:

Listed below are some examples of Search Terms used in the catalog for searching books relating to the topic Disabilities.

Athletes with disabilities
ADHD
Autism
Blindness
Developmental disabilities
Disability
Dyslexia
Learning disabilities
Learning disabled
People with disabilities
Women with disabilities
Helen Keller
Annie Sullivan

To locate ebooks, refine search results by Availability and select Available Online.

Further refine the results by Resource type and select Books.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 270 reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Salem Health This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to Salem Press’ award-winning health reference works. Includes Salem Press’ bestselling Magill’s Medical Guide; Genetics; and more. NOTE: To search the contents of an individual title, navigate to the Search page and click on the desired title.

Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia
Explores how instruction and learning are affected by factors such as classroom management, multiculturalism, learning styles, home schooling, peer relationships, school culture, discipline, self-esteem, socioeconomic status, and more.

World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Based on the World Book Encyclopedia, the suite includes more than 40,000 articles, 270,000 primary source documents, and 5000 e-books. It also includes a Spanish language encyclopedia, timelines, atlases, dictionaries, web and periodical links, as well as current events and Back in Time articles.