Find Websites/Images - Art 101 - Prehistoric to Gothic Art - Prof. Vitela

Internet Sites

You will be able to find a lot of art images online. As a scholar, you want to make sure you are using images that come from reputable sites so you can be sure that it is what it says it is. Most image collections created by museums, galleries, and educational institutions come with information called metadata. This information describes the image and lets you know what is it is called, who created it, where it is located and when it was created.

Artcyclopedia
For searching art, artists and art museums on the web.
Art History Resources on the Web
Edited by a professor of art history at Sweet Briar College, this contains a very extensive compilation of articles on a large variety of world art.
Art of the Middle Ages
Art History professor Chris Whitcomb offers a massive selection of links to sites discussing the art of this period.
Art Renewal Center
One of the largest on-line museums on the internet, features tens of thousands of high quality images of the greatest painters and sculptors in human history.
Getty Virtual Library
More than 250 books about art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, and the humanities for both the general public and specialists published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute.
Gothic vs. Romanesque Architecture
A quick comparison guide from Mark Hudelson, professor of art history at Palomar College.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Explore individual works or art or look at art by era or geographic region. Created by the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Contains images and scholarly essays.
The Louvre Museum homepage
Founded in 1793 as a museum for all, it celebrates humanity's long journey with the remarkable scope of a collection that spans thousands of years, reaches from America to the borders of India and China, and is highlighted by such iconic, universally admired works as the Mona Lisa, the Venus de Milo and the Victory of Samothrace.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Online Collection
The Met is a large museum in New York City. You can search 490,000 works of art that cover 5,000 years.
Number Symbolism in the Middle Ages
A slide show composed of art works of the Middle Ages that illustrate the number symbolism of the period.
The Online Collection at the British Museum
Search for images of over 2 million objects held in the museum's collections.
Voice of the Shuttle: Art & Art History
VoS is an extensive humanities database with many useful links to art history resources. Among their many art history categories are General Art Resources, Artists & Works By Chronology, Museums, Institutes, & Centers, Galleries & Exhibitions, Journals & Zines (Art & Art History), Depts. & Programs (Art & Art History), and Course Syllabi & Teaching Resources (Art & Art History).