Food/Chefs/Restaurants/Resorts - English 100 - Culinary/Hospitality Professor Reyes - FALL 2024

Books

Use books to learn more about the history of a specific food or food culture. You can also find books written by famous chefs or food critics.

The easiest way to find books (or videos) is to search for a person or food in the library catalog.

Try these searches:

Anthony Bourdain

China AND food AND history

food AND waste

We also have online specialized encyclopedias. You can easily search several at once by trying the same search as above in Gale Ebooks.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 270 reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Are you looking for more information? Use the databases below to learn more about a specific person, restaurant, or resort.

For example:

"Marcus Samuelsson"

"Ferran Adria"

"Alice Waters"

Noma

US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of twenty-one major US newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage from 1980 - present.
MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text for more than 2,400 magazines and journals, 850 reference books, and more than 73,000 primary source documents covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science, and more including image collections of photos, maps and flags.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 business publications including information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.