Find Articles - COMM 103 - Prof. Matthews - LibGuides at Cerritos College

Recommended Databases

Newspaper, magazine, and journal articles will give you the most up-to-date information on a topic (as opposed to books and encyclopedias). You may want to change the sort of your results to get the most recent articles first. You can also be more specific in your searches in the article databases. Here is a link to all the databases.

The best strategy is to pull out the keywords describing your topic and connect the keywords with "and."

EX: IVF and embryos and research

EX: censorship and books and libraries

HOW TO VIDEO: How to Search the US Major Dailies Database (also applies to GenderWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch)

HOW TO VIDEO: How to Search the Academic Search Complete Database (applies to all databases from Ebscohost)

US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of twenty-one major US newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage from 1980 - present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text for more than 2,400 magazines and journals, 850 reference books, and more than 73,000 primary source documents covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science, and more including image collections of photos, maps and flags.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's multidisciplinary, full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Covers current and historical topics. Searchable in both English and Spanish.