Find Articles - Art 100 - History of World Art - Prof. Vitela

How to Find Scholarly Articles for ART 102 Research

You'll need to find scholarly research articles to learn more about your topic. We've suggested some research databases that we recommend to students studying art history. If you scroll down past that, you can learn how to identify a scholarly journal.

If you have any problems finding articles on your topic, please contact the librarians at Cerritos College for help by using the chat button on the right.

Useful Databases

Use the following databases to find articles that are most relevant to your topic. To access databases from off campus you will need to enter your Cerritos College ID and password.

Remember:

Always search the databases using keyword that best describe your topic
Combine your keywords with "and" to narrow down your search

HOW TO VIDEO: How to Search the Art and Architecture Database (applies to all Ebsco databases)

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 720 journals covering topics such as art history, architecture, advertising, archeology, costume design, decorative arts, graphic arts, museum studies, painting, pottery, and sculpture.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources supporting multiple disciplines such as art, art history, architecture, history, language, literature, film, dance, and the performing arts.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present day. Library subscribes to content with a green unlocked icon.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text to more than 180 scholarly and peer-reviewed journal titles in history, literature, philosophy, religion, theater, music and film, among others.