To browse the library shelves for linguistic books use the general call numbers below.
P1-1091 Philology. Linguistics
PE1-3729 English
PE101-(458) Anglo-Saxon. Old English
PE501-(693) Middle English
PE(814)-896 Early Modern English
PE1001-1693 Modern English
PE1700-3602 Dialects. Provincialisms, etc.
PE3701-3729 Slang. Argot, etc.
Ever wonder how books are shelved?
In this library we use The Library of Congress Classification System to organize books on the shelves. The LC SYSTEM organizes material in libraries according to twenty-one branches of knowledge called classes. The system uses letters to represent the twenty-one broad branches of knowledge. The letters I, O, W, X AND Y are not used.
The twenty-one classes are:
A – GENERAL WORKS
B – PHILOSOPHY, PSYCHOLOGY, RELIGION
C – AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY
D – HISTORY: GENERAL & OUTSIDE THE AMERICAS
E – HISTORY: UNITED STATES
F – HISTORY: UNITED STATES LOCAL & AMERICAS
G – GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION
H – SOCIAL SCIENCE
J – POLITICAL SCIENCE
K – LAW
L – EDUCATION
M – MUSIC & BOOKS ON MUSIC
N – FINE ARTS
P – LANGUAGE & LITERATURE
Q – SCIENCE
R – MEDICINE
S – AGRICULTURE
T – TECHNOLOGY
U – MILITARY SCIENCE
V – NAVAL SCIENCE
Z – BIBLIOGRAPHY, LIBRARY SCIENCE & INFORMATION RESOURCES
These twenty-one broad subject areas are further divided into more specific subject areas by adding one or two additional letters as well as some numbers. For a more detailed breakdown of any subject, go to the Library of Congress web page.
So, How Do I Find a Book on the Shelf?
Try this exercise, which was put together by the librarians at Kent State University, to see if you have figured out the Library of Congress system!
Finding Books on Your Topic 
Once you have chosen a topic and done your background research you will be ready to conduct more comprehensive research using books.
Use the Library Catalog to find books available in the Cerritos College Library. Books can provide a broad overview of a topic or in-depth information. You can search for books by author, title, subject, or keyword.
Use the following terms to search by SUBJECT for books on your topic:
Search the following E-book collections for information on your topic:
Here are few E-books available electronically which may be useful in your research:
A Glossary of Historical Linguistics by 
The Hutchinson Concise Dictionary of Word Origins
The Linguistic Student's Handbook by 
The Oxford English Dictionary by Below are a few books available in the library which may be useful in your research.
*Books which are located in the library's Reference Stacks area cannot be checked out, students are able to photocopy pages.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Dictionary of Historical and Comparative Linguistics by 
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of Word and Phrase Origins by 
Speaking Freely by 
America in So Many Words by