College Athletes--Paid or Not?: Understand
Your Topic

You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument. 

Ask yourself:

• What do I know?
• What can I find out?

Reference resources help you find out more!

Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.

Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.

• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.

• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.

• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.

Reference Sources  

Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.

See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

Online reference resources require login for off-campus use.  Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted.  For more login information see the Database Login page.

Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get some background information on your topic.  These resources are available on and off campus.

Although you probably started with only a broad idea of what you wanted to write about, after testing your topic and doing background reading you should be able to narrow your focus and write your thesis statement. Here are two examples of narrowing a broad topic to come up with a thesis statement:

Payment of College Athletes

• College athletes should not be paid
  • College athletes should not be paid because they reap other benefits
    • College athletes should not be paid anything other that the compensation and benefits they often receive in the form of college scholarships, which may cover tuition costs and more, such as free housing, medical care, and top-notch coaching in their sport.

Payment of College Athletes

• College athletes should be paid
• College athletes should be paid because their sport is a job and they make a lot of money for their schools 
• College athletes should be compensated for their labor because they are the primary revenue generators in college sports and spend upwards of 40 hours a week on their game in addition to being fulltime students.