Religious Freedom: Understand
Your Topic

You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument. 

Ask yourself:

• What do I know?
• What can I find out?

Reference resources help you find out more!

Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.

Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.

• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.

• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.

• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.

Reference Sources  

Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.

See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

Online reference resources require login for off-campus use.  Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted.  For more login information see the Database Login page.

Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get some background information on your topic.  These resources are available on and off campus.

Here are some reference books located in the library's Reference area. They cannot be checked out, but students are able to photocopy pages.

Although you probably started with only a broad idea of what you wanted to write about, after testing your topic and doing backgrond reading you should be able to narrow your focus and write your thesis statement. Here are two examples of narrowing your focus to come up with a thesis statement:

Freedom of Religion

• Legal issues around displaying Nativity scenes and other religious iconography in public places
  • Does the requirement that church and state be separate allow or disallow such displays?
    • When local governments approve the display of particular religions' icons, they violate the clause in the First Amendment that prohibits laws "respecting an establishment of religion."

Freedom of Religion

• Religion and cases
  • What should happen when religious tenets come into conflict with laws?
    • Sometimes laws that infringe upon someone's religious beliefs or practices must be supported by a compelling state interest.