Reference Sources 
Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.
See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.
Online reference resources require login for off-campus use. Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted. For more login information see the Database Login page.
Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get some background information on your topic. These resources are available on and off campus.
For Scholarly Articles
Containing multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles, in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
For Newspapers & Magazines
Provides access to magazine, journal and newspaper citations and articles, including most major American newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post
For E- Books
Search here by subject, author and title to discover the e-books online contained in the Library's collection
A temporary collection of over one million e-books that provides emergency support to researchers while universities, schools, and training centers are closed. Created and maintained by the Internet Archive.
For Streaming Media
On-demand streaming video for over 16,000 films including content from the BBC, PBS, and Criterion Collection. Public performance rights for educational use are included. Contact the library to request captioning.
For Web sites
Choose from nearly 700 separate on-line guides. Search by subject or key word(s). Select the appropriate tab for links to suggested web sites on each topic.