Ever wonder how books are shelved?
In this library we use The Library of Congress Classification System to organize books on the shelves. The LC SYSTEM organizes material in libraries according to twenty-one branches of knowledge called classes. The system uses letters to represent the twenty-one broad branches of knowledge. The letters I, O, W, X AND Y are not used.
The twenty-one classes are:
A – GENERAL WORKS
B – PHILOSOPHY, PSYCHOLOGY, RELIGION
C – AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY
D – HISTORY: GENERAL & OUTSIDE THE AMERICAS
E – HISTORY: UNITED STATES
F – HISTORY: UNITED STATES LOCAL & AMERICAS
G – GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION
H – SOCIAL SCIENCE
J – POLITICAL SCIENCE
K – LAW
L – EDUCATION
M – MUSIC & BOOKS ON MUSIC
N – FINE ARTS
P – LANGUAGE & LITERATURE
Q – SCIENCE
R – MEDICINE
S – AGRICULTURE
T – TECHNOLOGY
U – MILITARY SCIENCE
V – NAVAL SCIENCE
Z – BIBLIOGRAPHY, LIBRARY SCIENCE & INFORMATION RESOURCES
These twenty-one broad subject areas are further divided into more specific subject areas by adding one or two additional letters as well as some numbers. For a more detailed breakdown of any subject, go to the Library of Congress web page.
So, How Do I Find a Book on the Shelf?
Try this exercise, which was put together by the librarians at Kent State University, to see if you have figured out the Library of Congress system!
Finding Books on Your Topic
Once you have chosen a topic and done your background research you will be ready to conduct more comprehensive research using books.
Use the Library Catalog to find books available in the Cerritos College Library. Books can provide a broad overview of a topic or in-depth information. You can search for books by author, title, subject, or keyword.
Use the following terms as Subject heading and Keywords search strategies for books on your topic. Follow the links to the Cerritos College Library Catalog.
Women in technology -- United States.
Here are a few E-books which may help with your research:
Women, Science, and Technology
Women, Science, and Technology is an ideal reader for courses in feminist science studies, science studies more generally, women's studies, and studies in gender and education. This second edition fully updates its predecessor, dropping ten readings and replacing them with new ones that:
extend content coverage into areas not originally included, such as reproductive, agricultural, medical and imaging technologies reflect new feminist theory and research on biology, language, the global economy and the intersection of race and class with gender provide current statistical information about the representation of women and people of colour in science, technology, engineering and mathematics are more accessible for students.
Section introductions have also been fully updated to cover the latest controversies, such as Harvard president Lawrence Summers' widely debated discussion about women and science and the current debates surrounding reports on the low numbers of female engineers.
Gender Considerations and Influence in the Digital Media and Gaming Industry
This book contains a collection of high-quality empirical studies and personal experiences of women working in male-dominated fields with a particular focus on the media and gaming industries. It providing insight on best methods for attracting and retaining women in these fields, acting as a reference for executives and members of professional bodies who wish to encourage women in their career progression.
Future of Gender by
In this volume a collection of international experts from the fields of political philosophy, political theory, sociology, economics, law, psychoanalysis and evolutionary psychology scrutinize the conceptual effectiveness of gender both as a mode of analysis and as a basis for envisioning the transformation of society.
Here are some books available in the library which may help with your research:
Brotopia by 
Beyond Barbie and Mortal Kombat
Ten years after the groundbreaking From Barbie to Mortal Kombat highlighted the ways gender stereotyping and related social and economic issues permeate digital game play, the number of women and girl gamers has risen considerably. Despite this, gender disparities remain in gaming. Women may be warriors in World of Warcraft, but they are also scantily clad "booth babes" whose sex appeal is used to promote games at trade shows. Player-generated content has revolutionized gaming, but few games marketed to girls allow "modding" (game modifications made by players). Gender equity, the contributors to Beyond Barbie and Mortal Kombat argue, requires more than increasing the overall numbers of female players. Beyond Barbie and Mortal Kombat brings together new media theorists, game designers, educators, psychologists, and industry professionals, including some of the contributors to the earlier volume, to look at how gender intersects with the broader contexts of digital games today: gaming, game industry and design, and serious games.
Cyberbullies, Cyberactivists, Cyberpredators by
Written by an expert in media, popular culture, gender, and sexuality, this book surveys the common archetypes of Internet users--from geeks, nerds, and gamers to hackers, scammers, and predators--and assesses what these stereotypes reveal about our culture's attitudes regarding gender, technology, intimacy, and identity.
* Provides exhaustively researched and richly detailed information about the interplay between media representations of Internet users and gender, politics, technology, and society that is fascinating and fun to read
* Presents findings that suggest that in spite of the Internet being so prevalent, technophobia is still an inherent subtext of many pop culture references to it
* Considers how the vast majority of the portrayals of Internet user stereotypes are male--and evaluates how these male-dominated roles shape and are shaped by popular attitudes about sexuality, technology, intimacy, and identity
* Written by Lauren Rosewarne, a widely published expert in the areas of modern media, popular culture, gender, and sexuality
Digitized Lives
In a remarkably short period of time the Internet and associated digital communication technologies have deeply changed the way millions of people around the globe live their lives. But what is the nature of that impact? In chapters examining a broad range of issues--including sexuality, politics, education, race, gender relations, the environment, and social protest movements--Digitized Lives seeks answers to these central questions: What is truly new about so-called "new media," and what is just hype? How have our lives been made better or worse by digital communication technologies? In what ways can these devices and practices contribute to a richer cultural landscape and a more sustainable society? Cutting through the vast--and often contradictory--literature on these topics, Reed avoids both techno-hype and techno-pessimism, offering instead succinct, witty and insightful discussions of how digital communication is impacting our lives and reshaping the major social issues of our era. The book argues that making sense of digitized culture means looking past the glossy surface of techno gear to ask deeper questions about how we can utilize technology to create a more socially, politically, and economically just world.
Female Action Heroes by
This book offers 25 profiles of some of the most popular female action heroes throughout the history of film, television, comic books, and video games.
* Comprises 25 profiles, arranged alphabetically
* 70 sidebars provide additional information on pertinent topics, individuals, and symbols
* Includes a chronology of major appearances of the 25 female action heroes in film, television, comic books, and video games, as well as women's fashion trends and major events in women's history
* Offers a photograph of each featured, female action hero
* Presents a glossary of 39 terms, including female archetypes like "femme fatale" and social movements like "third-wave feminism"
* Provides a selected bibliography of books and Internet sites related to the topics of female action heroes, women's history, and media studies
Gendered Lives by 
Here Be Dragons: Science, Technology, and the Future of Humanity by
The 21st century will most likely see even more revolutionary changes than the 20th, due to advances in science, technology and medicine. Particular areas where extraordinary and perhaps disruptive advances can be expected include biotechnology, nanotechnology, and machine intelligence. We may also expect various ways to enhance human cognitive and other abilities using, e.g., pharmaceuticals, genetic engineering or machine-brain interfaces - perhaps to the extent of changing human nature beyond what we currently think of as human. The potential benefits of all these technologies are enormous, but so are the risks, including the possibility of human extinction.
Hit Refresh: The Quest to Rediscover Microsoft's Soul and Imagine a Better Future for Everyone by
Microsoft's CEO tells the inside story of the company's continuing transformation and offers his vision for the coming wave of intelligent technologies. He examines how people, organizations, and societies can and must transform, how they must 'hit refresh' in their persistent quest for new energy, new ideas, and continued relevance and renewal. Yet he feels strongly that one of our essential qualities -- empathy -- will become ever more valuable. Satya Nadella also discusses his childhood in India and how he learned to lead along the way. He shares his meditations as sitting CEO -- one who is mostly unknown following the brainy Bill Gates and energetic Steve Ballmer. He explains how the company rediscovered its soul -- transforming everything from its culture to its business partnerships to the fiercely competitive landscape of the industry itself. Nadella concludes by introducing an equation to restore digital trust, ethical design principles, and economic growth for everyone.
The Innovators by
In his masterly saga, Isaacson begins with Ada Lovelace, Lord Byron's daughter, who pioneered computer programming in the 1840s. He explores the fascinating personalities that created our current digital revolution, such as Vannevar Bush, Alan Turing, John von Neumann, J.C.R. Licklider, Doug Engelbart, Robert Noyce, Bill Gates, Steve Wozniak, Steve Jobs, Tim Berners-Lee, and Larry Page.
This is the story of how their minds worked and what made them so inventive. It's also a narrative of how their ability to collaborate and master the art of teamwork made them even more creative.
Male and Female Roles
This collection of essays provides readers with various perspectives on the individual roles of men and women. Across four chapters, readers will evaluate whether male and female roles are biologically derived, what the cultural effects of these roles are, whether gender stereotypes impact perceptions of men and women, and what gender roles will be like in the future. Essayist Chris Nutter reports that men are becoming more like women, while another essay claims the opposite. Elayne Boosler claims the U.S. is ready for a female president while another essaysit states that it is not. Issues are richly debated, allowing readers to develop their own intelligent opinions about male and female roles.
Mind Change: How Digital Technologies are Leaving their Mark on our Brains by
The 21st century will most likely see even more revolutionary changes than the 20th, due to advances in science, technology and medicine. Particular areas where extraordinary and perhaps disruptive advances can be expected include biotechnology, nanotechnology, and machine intelligence. We may also expect various ways to enhance human cognitive and other abilities using, e.g., pharmaceuticals, genetic engineering or machine-brain interfaces - perhaps to the extent of changing human nature beyond what we currently think of as human. The potential benefits of all these technologies are enormous, but so are the risks, including the possibility of human extinction.
The Only Woman in the Room: Why Science is Still a Boys' Club by
Based on six years interviewing her former teachers and classmates, as well as dozens of other women who had dropped out before completing their degrees in science or found their careers less rewarding than they had hoped, The Only Woman in the Room is a bracingly honest, no-holds-barred examination of the social, interpersonal, and institutional barriers confronting women--and minorities--in the STEM fields. This frankly personal and informed book reflects on women's experiences in a way that simple data can't, documenting not only the more blatant bias of another era but all the subtle disincentives women in the sciences still face.
Packaged Pleasures: How Technology & Marketing Revolutionized Desire by
From the candy bar to the cigarette, records to roller coasters, a technological revolution during the last quarter of the nineteenth century precipitated a colossal shift in human consumption and sensual experience. Food, drink, and many other consumer goods came to be mass-produced, bottled, canned, condensed, and distilled, unleashing new and intensified surges of pleasure, delight, thrill--and addiction. Cross and Proctor have delivered an ingeniously constructed history of consumerism and consumer technology that will make us all rethink some of our favorite things.
Pink Brain, Blue Brain : How Small Differences Grow Into Troublesome Gaps--and What We Can Do About It by
A neuroscientist shatters the myths about gender differences, arguing that the brains of boys and girls are largely shaped by how they spend their time, and offers parents and teachers concrete ways to avoid reinforcing harmful stereotypes.
Rise of the Machines: A Cybernetic History by
Cybernetics triggered blissful cults, the Whole Earth Catalog, and feminist manifestos, just as it fueled martial gizmos and the air force's foray into virtual space. As Rid shows, Cybernetics proved a powerful tool for two competing factions-- those who sought to make a better world and those who sought to control the one at hand. In the Bay Area, techno-libertarians embraced networked machines as the portal to a new electronic frontier: a peaceful, open space of freedom. In Washington, DC, cyberspace provided the perfect theater for dominance and war. Meanwhile the future arrived secretly in 1996, with Moonlight Maze, dawn of a new age of digital state-on-state espionage. That "first cyberwar" ... went on for years-- and indeed has never stopped. In our long-promised cybernetic future, the line between utopia and dystopia continues to be disturbingly thin.
Same Difference : How Gender Myths are Hurting Our Relationships, Our Children, and Our Jobs by
A landmark demonstration of how groundless beliefs about natural differences between the sexes have harmed both women and men-with a hopeful vision based on up-to-the-minute research. From respected academics like Carol Gilligan to pop-psych gurus like John Gray, the message has long been the same: Men and women are fundamentally different, and trying to bridge the gender gap can only lead to grief. Generations have bought into the idea that women are uniquely primed to be relational, men innately driven toward achievement-even when these truths are contradicted by what's happening in our daily lives.The time has come, to liberate ourselves from biological determinism. Drawing on years of exhaustive research, the authros reveal how a toxic mix of junk science, pop psychology, and media hype has profoundly influenced our thinking and behavior, causing us to make poor decisions about how we choose our mates, raise our children, and manage our careers.
Sexting Panic by
Sexting Panic illustrates how anxieties about technology and teen girls' sexuality distract from critical questions about how to adapt norms of privacy and consent for new media. Though mobile phones can be used to cause harm, Amy Adele Hasinoff notes that criminalization and abstinence policies meant to curb sexting often fail to account for the distinction between consensual sharing and the malicious distribution of a private image. Hasinoff challenges the idea that sexting inevitably victimizes young women. Instead, she encourages us to recognize young people's capacity for choice and recommends responses to sexting that are realistic and nuanced rather than based on misplaced fears about deviance, sexuality, and digital media
Society 3.0 by
The book presents and explores the following insights:
- A wider range of family members, not just older children, now attend college, a decision that shapes - and is shaped by - 21st-century demographics.
- Older students, recognizing degrees as vital for competing in the global workforce, now outnumber those entering college before starting careers.
- Today's workers are increasingly likely to be women, working outside the office or self-employed, or applying their education to innovation and entrepreneurship as small business owners.
- Technology is remaking the campus experience via smartphone learning apps, social networking among professors and students, and immersive engagement in virtual worlds - and even games.
Society 3.0 will provide higher education and industry stakeholders a guide for understanding the emerging societal forces that are shaping the future.
Video Games
Collects essays that offer varying perspectives on issues related to video games, including what impact they have on children and teens, how they affect society, whether or not they promote violence, and how they should be regulated. Includes chapters: "More computer game designs should appeal to women" and "Video games transcend gender roles."
Game Worlds Get Real by
This book explores how after 20 years of existence, virtual world games have evolved: the social landscapes within digital worlds have become rigid and commodified, and "play" and "fun" have become rational and mechanical products.
* Explains how social rigidity in digital communities often robs these spaces of experimentation and identity play
* Suggests that new technologies such as virtual reality are unlikely to revolutionize the media or cause dramatic social change