Find Articles - English 100 - Professor Walsh - FALL 2024

Which One Do I Use?

Journals?
Magazines?
Newspapers?

When doing research, it is useful to know what these different publications are and what kind of information they contain.

• Journal articles are more scholarly or professional while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general.

• Magazine articles appeal to the general reader and usually have relatively short articles are written in non-technical language are easy to understand

• Newspaper articles, while not usually scholarly or professional, can give you the most current news and some additional facts on your topic.

Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Articles

Finding Articles on Your Topic image of newspaper articles

Research on a subject is seldom complete without periodical literature - magazines, academic/scholarly journals, and newspapers.

Listed below are a few databases where you will find magazine, journal, and newspaper articles for your paper:

= Magazines

- Newspapers

= Scholarly Journals

Remember:

Always search databases using only the keywords that best describe your topic
Keywords can be combined into a search string with the operators "and", "or", "not"

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text for more than 2,400 magazines and journals, 850 reference books, and more than 73,000 primary source documents covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science, and more including image collections of photos, maps and flags.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's multidisciplinary, full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Covers current and historical topics. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of twenty-one major US newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage from 1980 - present.

Video Tutorials on Using These Databases

English 100 - Professor Walsh - FALL 2024: Find Articles

Which One Do I Use?

Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Articles