Understand Your Topic - Butler - Parable of the Sower

What Do You Know?

You probably already know a little something about the topic you chose, but it's important to find out more in order to write an intelligent research paper and/or make a good argument.

Ask yourself:

What do I know?
What can I find out?

Reference resources help you find out more!

Library Research Guides lead you to the best resources to use when searching for information on your topic.

Always check to see if there's a Research Guide on your topic.

Quick Tips!

• Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.

• Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.

• Note relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

• Additional background information may be found in your lecture notes, textbooks, and reserve readings.

Understanding Your Topic - Where to Look

Reference Sources

Once you have chosen a topic for your paper, use general reference sources to get background information on your topic. Reference books such as the encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, and the current issue titles are a good starting point for your research because they help you become better acquainted with your topic.

See the lists below for some selected reference sources available online and in print. Ask a librarian if you need help finding more resources.

Online reference resources require login for off-campus use. Enter your Cerritos College login when prompted. For more login information see the Database Login page.

About the Authors and Novels - ELECTRONIC BOOKS

Here are some of the library's online resources which can help you get biographical and critical information.

You should search these sources either by the name of the author or the name of the work.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of world authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Novels for Students, Shakespearean Criticism, and Poetry Criticism.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of world authors and their works from every age and literary discipline. Includes sources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Gale eBooks - LITERATURE This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and reference sources specialized for literary research
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
Access the complete content of the Magill’s Literary Annuals (1977-2010); Masterplots; Critical Insights series, and more. NOTE: To search the contents of an individual title, navigate to the Search page and click on the desired title.

Novels for Students
Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.

Selected Library Reference Sources - Online

Here are some of the library's online reference resources which can help you get background information on your topic. These resources are available for you to use when on or off campus.

Black Literature Criticism by Jelena O. Krstovic; Howard Dodson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781414431710
Critical Survey of Long Fiction
ISBN: 9781587655357
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers
ISBN: 9780313049071
See volume one for Octavia Butler listing.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature
ISBN: 9780313330599

Selected Library Reference Sources - Print

Here are some reference books that are located in the library's Reference area. Although they cannot be checked out, students are able to photocopy pages.