Your professors will often tell you to "Use EBSCO to find articles." What exactly is EBSCO? Well, EBSCO Information Services is a division of EBSCO Industries, Inc., one of the largest privately held and family-owned companies in the United States. EBSCO Industries, Inc. has been in business since 1944. Starting out as a small subscription agency, EBSCO quickly became a pioneer in the library services industry.
Cerritos College Library subscribes to over thirty databases provided by EBSCO!
The videos (Tab itemized above) will help you become familiar with the EBSCO database Interface.
Introduction to EBSCOhost (4:17) (Power Point File) (ClosedCaption)
Basic Searching (2:12) (Power Point File) (ClosedCaption)
Advanced Searching(2:38) (Power Point File)(ClosedCaption)
EBSCOhost Result List (3:39) (Power Point File) (Closed Caption)
Citing Articles (1:52) (Power Point File) (ClosedCaption)
This tutorial demonstrates the features of the new EBSCOhost user interface.
The New EBSCOhost Tutorial (PowerPoint)
With Basic search on the new EBSCOhost, you can quickly run a search for your keywords. Quick filters are also available, enabling you to easily create a more targeted search before reviewing your results.
Basic Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces - Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Note: If you are unable to view videos on YouTube, click the following link to view this tutorial.
Basic Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces - Tutorial
To run a basic search:
Enter your search terms in the search box.
As you type, searches matching your terms appear below the search box. If you see your term in the list, you can click on a search term to go directly to the result list.
Select any desired limiters from below the search box and click the Magnifying Glass to run your search.
From the Results List, you can apply additional filters by clicking the All filters button below the search box.
View article details by clicking an article title or the View details link.
When Full Text is available, select a reading option (Publisher Site, Online Full Text, PDF) from the Access now menu.
The new EBSCOhost allows users to conduct advanced searches using Guided-Style Find fields. Guided-Style Find fields assist you in creating a more targeted search.
For example, you can enter your search terms into the search boxes and have EBSCOhost search for your terms in only specific citation search fields, such as the Title or Subject terms fields.
EBSCO Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Note: If you are unable to view videos on YouTube, click the following link to view this tutorial.
EBSCO Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost Tutorial
To create an Advanced Search:
Click the Advanced Search link below the search box on the Basic search screen.
Your institution's administrator may set Advanced Search as the default search screen for EBSCO Discovery Service making it available when you log in.
Enter your search terms in the first search box on the Advanced Search screen.
Choose a citation search field from the All fields drop-down list (for example, search in only the Title field of the citation).
Repeat steps 2 and 3 for the second set of search boxes.
Click the Boolean operator drop-down menu to combine the search box entries with AND, OR, NOT. (Default is AND)
You can select another Boolean operator, keyword, and search field in the third search box set.
Click the Add fields link below the search boxes if you would like to add more lines of search to your advanced search.
Under Filters, apply any desired limiters to your search. For example, you may want to limit results to items with full text available online and published within a custom date range you select.
To add a Custom date range, select Custom range and click the fields to select start and end dates from the date picker.
Depending on the database being searched, other available filters may include Publication Type, Document Type, Language, etc. When searching multiple databases, you can click the expand arrows to apply filters specific to each database.
Note: Any limiters that were selected on the Basic Search screen before accessing Advanced search are applied to searches conducted with Advanced Search.
When applying database specific filters with a drop-down menu, you can select one or multiple options.
If desired, click the Search options tab to change the search mode or apply expanders.
Click the Search button. The Result List displays.
How-To Information (Listing of New EBSCO Interface How-To Videos)
eBooks on EBSCOhost
SOURCE: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Where-can-I-find-tutorials-on-EBSCO-interfaces?language=en_US (SP22)
SOURCE: https://www.youtube.com/c/EBSCOSupportTutorials/videos (SP22)
SOURCE: New Interface - The New EBSCOhost Interface - Quick Start Guide
This link opens in a new windowAll of the Library's subscription databases are available from any computer on campus. Simply click on Research Databases from the Library Homepage to see a complete list and description of our databases.
Remote access to the subscription databases is available to Cerritos College students, faculty, and staff. Remote access requires a login.
Students: Login using your Cerritos College ID number and password, just as you would login to the campus network. You must be currently enrolled in a class. Your password is your DOB unless you changed it. Format is MMDDYYYY.
Faculty and Staff: Login using your Cerritos College network username and password.
Please note: Username format = jdoe (not jdoe@cerritos.edu)
 |
11110 Alondra Blvd., Norwalk, CA 90650 |
Need Help 
The Cerritos College Librarians can help you with your research in a variety of ways:
Librarians are available during library hours to answer your questions by phone or chat.
(562) 860-2451 x2425
