Journals?
Magazines?
Newspapers?
When doing research, it is useful to know what these different publications are and what kind of information they contain.
• Journal articles are more scholarly or professional while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general.
• Magazine articles appeal to the general reader and usually have relatively short articles are written in non-technical language are easy to understand
• Newspaper articles, while not usually scholarly or professional, can give you the most current news and some additional facts on your topic.
Finding Articles on Your Topic 
Research on a subject is seldom complete without magazines, journals, and newspapers. You can find these articles in databases.
A database is a collection of information. Most of the library's databases are electronic indexes, or lists, used to locate articles. You search these databases by typing in keywords. If you have a hard time getting the articles you want or don't know what database to use, Chat with a Librarian and we'll help you.
To access the databases from off campus you will be prompted to enter your Cerritos College User ID and password. For more login information see the Database Login page.
See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.
Use the following databases to find articles that are most relevant to your topic.
Remember:
HOW TO VIDEO: How to Search Academic Search Complete (applies to all databases from EBSCO)
HOW TO VIDEO: How to Search U.S. Major Dailies (also applies to Ethnic NewsWatch and GenderWatch)
These first three databases cover many topics. Academic Source Complete and SocIndex will have mostly scholarly, peer reviewed sources, and Masterfile will have more magazines.
The next two databases are more specialized. Ethnic NewsWatch has newspaper and magazine sources that come from a particular ethnic or racial community. GenderWatch focuses on issues of gender and would be good if you were doing a topic focused on women or LGBTQ issues. Most of the sources in GenderWatch are scholarly.
The next two databases are best for newspapers. U.S. Major Dailies has big newspapers from the U.S. like the New York Times and the Washington Post. Newspaper Source Plus has more newspapers but does not include the big U.S. newspapers.
These next two databases are very specialized. I would only use them if you did not have any luck in the databases above. The PsycArticles databases is only scholarly articles.
 |
What is a Scholarly Journal? |
Scholarly journals are generally published by and for experts. A publication is considered to be peer reviewed if its articles go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by the author’s peers (people who are experts in the same subject area.) Articles in scholarly journals present new, previously unpublished research. Scholarly sources will almost always include:
Use scholarly journals for highly focused original research.
Examples: AMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association, African American Review, Modern Fiction Studies, American Psychologist and American Sociological Review
 |
What is a Popular Magazine? |
Articles in popular magazines tend to be written by staff writers or freelance journalists and are geared towards a general audience. While most magazines adhere to editorial standards, articles do not go through a peer review process and rarely contain bibliographic citations. Popular magazines are periodicals that one typically finds at grocery stores, airport newsstands, or bookstores. Use popular magazines for a general overview of current news and opinions, or firsthand accounts of an event.
Examples: Popular magazines range from highly respected publications such as Scientific American and The Atlantic Monthly to general interest magazines like People, Sports Illustrated and Newsweek and US News & World Report.
 |
What is a Trade Publication? |
Trade publications focus on a specific profession or trade. Articles in trade magazines cover the interest of skilled laborers, technicians, and artisans. Professional magazines cover the interests of professors, librarians, and members of other fields that require advanced degrees. Subject magazines cover a topic of interest to one or more professions. Use trade magazines for overviews of news and research in a particular field.
Examples: Legal Assistant Today and Library Journal
 |
For some research assignments, it is important to use primary sources, instead of or in addition to secondary sources. What’s the difference? |
Primary sources are original documents or objects—first-hand information or the raw material. These original documents are often diaries, letters, memoirs, journals, speeches, or interviews. They may also include published pieces such as newspaper or magazine articles, as long as they are written soon after the fact and not as historical accounts. Eye witness accounts, photographs, audio or video recordings, research reports in the natural or social sciences, or original literary or theatrical works are also considered primary sources.
Secondary sources interpret primary sources. Secondary sources include comments on, interpretations of, or discussions about the original material. You can think of secondary sources as second-hand information. Secondary source materials can be articles in newspapers or popular magazines, book or movie reviews, or articles found in scholarly journals that evaluate or criticize someone else’s original research.
Examples of Primary and Secondary Sources
|
|
Primary Source |
Secondary Source |
|
Art |
Original artwork |
Article critiquing the piece of art |
|
History |
Slave diary |
Book about the Underground Railroad |
|
Literature |
Poem |
Treatise on a particular genre of poetry |
|
Political Science |
Treaty |
Essay on Native American land rights |
|
Science or Social Sciences |
Report of an original experiment |
Review of several studies on the same topic |
|
Theatre |
Videotape of a performance |
Biography of a playwright |
