Definitions:
- Abstract: Found in various journal article databases, abstracts are usually just short, descriptive summaries of a work’s content. An abstract covers the main points of a piece of writing and helps you decide whether an article is relevant for your purposes.
- Annotation - An annotation is a summary and evaluation of a source. While an abstract includes only a descriptive summary, an annotation includes a summary and critical analysis
- BIbliography - A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, etc.) used in researching a particular topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" (APA style) or "Works CIted" (MLA style). A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (author, title, publisher, etc.)
- Annotated bibliography - An alphabetical list of sources (books, journals, etc.) on a topic that offers a summary and analysis of each source.
Purpose:
The purpose of an annotated bibliography is to give the reader a summary of the sources cited, and/or to inform the reader of their relevance, accuracy, and/or quality. The purpose may include:
- Provide a literature review on a particular subject
- Help formulate a thesis on a subject
- Describe other items on a topic that may be of interest to the reader
- Help evaluate the credibility and authority of your sources so that you can use the highest quality sources in your writing
- To understand and be fully informed about a topic before making judgments and writing about it
- To distinguish between your views and biases on a topic and what the research actually shows
- To assess what research you’ve got so that you can figure out whether you need to go out and find more.
- Provide examples of the types of sources available
- Provide an overview of the main issues, arguments and research within a particular area
Types of Annotations:
- Descriptive annotations provide a summary of the work: The annotation may include:
- Critical or Evaluative annotations criticize or include value judgments of the work. It may include the same information as a descriptive annotation, but will also include value judgments or comments on the effectiveness of the work.
- Evaluate the information
- Includes value judgments
- Address whether the work is useful to research being conducted;
- Examine strengths or weaknesses
- Comments on the effectiveness of the work.
- Combination annotations summarize and evaluate the work. The annotation includes elements of a descriptive and critical annotation--it summarizes as well as evaluates.
- Discuss the hypothesis or thesis
- Address the methodology
- Summarize the author's main points
- Provide a conclusion or the work's results
- Evaluate the information
- Address whether the work is useful to the research being conducted
- Examine strengths or weaknesses
Length of Annotation in the Annotated Bibliography:
The length of the annotation typically can be three to seven sentences long or 100-250 words. The length or word counts depends on the assignment and the requirements from your professor. The length is related to the purpose and intended audience of the annotated bibliography.
