Find Articles - ART108 / HUM108 - Black Images in Popular Culture

Louis Armstrong

Which One Do I Use?

Journals?
Magazines?
Newspapers?

When doing research, it is useful to know what these different publications are and what kind of information they contain.

• Journal articles are more scholarly or professional while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general.

• Magazine articles appeal to the general reader and usually have relatively short articles are written in non-technical language are easy to understand

• Newspaper articles, while not usually scholarly or professional, can give you the most current news and some additional facts on your topic.

Useful Databases

Articles in magazines and journals are focused on a narrower topic than an encyclopedia article. You may find a review of a television show or you may find an article describing a study about the use of language in television news broadcasts. Each database has thousands, if not millions, of articles, so your search can be very specific, but remember to search keywords (not a whole sentence) and connect your words with "and." You will need to do some experimenting to find the right words.

Use the following databases to find articles that are most relevant to your topic. See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.

Remember:

Always search databases using only the keywords that best describe your topic
Keywords can be combined into a search string with the operators "and" , "or", "not"

Example: television and news and African Americans

HOW TO VIDEO: How to Search Academic Search Premier (applies to all databases from EBSCOhost)

HOW TO VIDEO: How to Search U.S. Major Dailies (applies to all databases from Proquest including Ethnic NewsWatch)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text for more than 2,400 magazines and journals, 850 reference books, and more than 73,000 primary source documents covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science, and more including image collections of photos, maps and flags. This database includes the African American magazine Ebony all the way back to 1945.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 720 journals covering topics such as art history, architecture, advertising, archeology, costume design, decorative arts, graphic arts, museum studies, painting, pottery, and sculpture.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database. Great for research on human behavior, societies, and organizations. Full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, more than 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. Perfect for those dance history assignments.More than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs. Over 60,00 sources indexed.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books. Click here for title list.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources supporting multiple disciplines such as art, art history, architecture, history, language, literature, film, dance, and the performing arts.
Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO collection of information on popular culture in America, past and present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's multidisciplinary, full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Covers current and historical topics. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of twenty-one major US newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage from 1980 - present.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

ART108 / HUM108 - Black Images in Popular Culture: Find Articles

Louis Armstrong

Which One Do I Use?

Useful Databases