Find Articles - Art 102 - Renaissance to Rococo - Prof. Vitela

How to Find Scholarly Articles for ART 102 Research

You'll need to find scholarly research articles to learn more about your topic. We've suggested some research databases that we recommend to students studying art history. If you scroll down past that, you can learn how to identify a scholarly journal.

If you have any problems finding articles on your topic, please contact the librarians at Cerritos College for help by using the chat button on the right.

Useful Databases

Use the following databases to find articles that are most relevant to your topic. To access databases from off campus you will need to enter your Cerritos College ID and password.

Remember:

Always search databases using only the keywords that best describe your topic
Keywords can be combined into a search string with the operators "and", "or", "not"

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 720 journals covering topics such as art history, architecture, advertising, archeology, costume design, decorative arts, graphic arts, museum studies, painting, pottery, and sculpture.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources supporting multiple disciplines such as art, art history, architecture, history, language, literature, film, dance, and the performing arts.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide, from prehistory to the present day. Library subscribes to content with a green unlocked icon.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text to more than 180 scholarly and peer-reviewed journal titles in history, literature, philosophy, religion, theater, music and film, among others.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides access to magazine, journal and newspaper citations and articles from Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch and the US Major Dailies, which includes most major American newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.

Side by Side Comparison - Scholarly, Popular, Trade

	SCHOLARLY JOURNALS	POPULAR MAGAZINES	TRADE PUBLICATIONS
APPEARANCE	Print: Plain cover Plain paper B&W graphics and illustrations No pictures Pages are consecutive throughout the volume Web site: plain, functional	Print: Eye-catching cover Glossy paper Color pictures and illustrations Each issue starts with page 1 Web site: “flashy”	Print: Cover depicts industrial setting Glossy pictures and illustrations Each issue starts with page 1 Web site: · varies from flashy to plain/functional
AUDIENCE	Scholars, researchers, students	General public	People in the business or industry
CONTENT	News and research (methodology, theory) from the field	Current events, personalities, and general interest articles	Industry trends, new products or techniques, and organizational news
STYLE	Written for experts using technical language	Journalistic; written for nonprofessional or layperson.	Written for people in the business or industry using technical language
AUTHOR	Experts, scholars	Journalists, staff	Practitioners, staff
ACCOUNTABILITY	Peer reviewed, refereed Always bibliographies	Editorial review No bibliographies	Editorial review May have short bibliographies
ADS	Few or none	Many, often in color	Some, often in color
FREQUENCY	Usually monthly or quarterly	Usually weekly or monthly	Usually weekly or monthly
EXAMPLES	American Journal of Nursing Journal of Social Issues	Rolling Stone Newsweek	American Libraries Chronicles of Higher Education