Find Images/Websites - Art 102 - Renaissance to Rococo - Prof. Vitela

Internet Sites

You will be able to find a lot of art images online. As a scholar, you want to make sure you are using images that come from reputable sites so you can be sure that it is what it says it is. Most image collections created by museums, galleries, and educational institutions come with information called metadata. This information describes the image and lets you know what is it is called, who created it, where it is located and when it was created.

ArtCyclopedia
A website that indexes information available on the web about various types of art and artists.
Art History Resources on the Web
Art History website which is run by Professor of art history at Sweet Briar College
British Museum
The British Museum’s online Collection database contains images of more than 2 million objects in the Museum’s collection.
Getty Virtual Library
More than 250 books about art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, and the humanities for both the general public and specialists published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Explore individual works or art or look at art by era or geographic region. Created by the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Contains images and scholarly essays.
J. Paul Getty Museum
The J. Paul Getty Museum at the Getty Center in Los Angeles houses European paintings, drawings, sculpture, illuminated manuscripts, decorative arts, and European and American photographs.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
LACMA is the largest art museum in the western United States, with a collection extending from ancient times to the present.
Louvre Museum Official Website
The Metropolitan Museum of Art is a large museum in New York City. It has art going back five thousand years. There are many photographs of their collection available online. You can search by location and type of art.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Metropolitan Museum of Art is a large museum in New York City. The collection includes art dating from more than 5,000 years ago. There are many photographs of their collection available online. You can search by location and type of art.
National Gallery of Art
Norton Simon Museum of Art
The Norton Simon Museum, located in Pasadena, houses a collection of European art from the Renaissance to the 20th century, South and Southeast Asian art spanning 2,000 years, and Modern and Contemporary Art from Europe and the United States.
Rijksmuseum
A museum in Amersterdam. This is a good source for Rembrandt and Vermeer.
Voice of the Shuttle: art & Art History
Web Gallery of Art
Virtual Museum of European paintings and sculptures.
WebMuseum, Paris