Identity Perception Essay - English 100 - Professor Robinson - FALL 2024

Researching Stereotypes

The databases listed below are good sources for articles about different types of stereotypes.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database. Great for research on human behavior, societies, and organizations. Full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, more than 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's multidisciplinary, full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Covers current and historical topics. Searchable in both English and Spanish.

Sometimes you need background information on your topic to get started or to understand what you've been reading in the articles you've found. Some of the best sources of background information are books, especially encyclopedias.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 270 reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Cerritos College Library Catalog
Search our library's books, ebooks, streaming videos, and other materials.

Researching Characters

Try using a literary criticism database to learn what researchers think about a character.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of world authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Novels for Students, Shakespearean Criticism, and Poetry Criticism.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of twenty-one major US newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, The Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal. Coverage from 1980 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources supporting multiple disciplines such as art, art history, architecture, history, language, literature, film, dance, and the performing arts.

English 100 - Professor Robinson - FALL 2024: Identity Perception Essay

Researching Stereotypes

Researching Characters