Cultural Memory Essay - English 100 - Professor Robinson - FALL 2024

Books

Finding Books on Your Topic

Use the themes and personal insights from your first essay to identify what you will explore.

Books can provide a broad overview of a topic or in-depth information. You can search for books by author, title, subject, or keyword.

Use the Library Catalog to find books.

Use the following terms to search by SUBJECT for books on your topic:

African Americans in popular culture
African Americans - Cultural assimilation
African Americans - Ethnic identity
African Americans - Social life and customs
Asian Americans - Cultural assimilation
Asian Americans - Ethnic identity
Asian Americans - Social life and customs
Hispanic Americans - Cultural assimilation
Hispanic Americans - Ethnic identity
Hispanic Americans - Social Life and customs
Mexican Americans - Ethnic identity
Mexican Americans - Social life and customs
Indians of North America - Cultural assimilation
Indians of North America - Ethnic identity
Indians of North America - Social life and customs

Selected Library Reference Sources

Here are some of the library's reference databases which can help you get some background information on your topic. These resources are available on and off campus.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 270 reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO research tool for African American history and culture.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to reference sources in African American studies featuring the Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the African American National Biography project; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America; and Africana.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO research tool for Latino American history and culture.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO resource that provides historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America.

Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources
Provides primary source documents focused on immigration and multiculturalism in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America contains 152 original essays (about 8,000-12,000 words each) on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.

Useful Databases

Use the following databases to find articles that are most relevant to your topic. See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text for more than 12,000 scholarly journals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. Also includes many popular magazines.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books. Click here for title list.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's multidisciplinary, full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Covers current and historical topics. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's full-text collection of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets, and government and non-governmental organization special reports.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database. Great for research on human behavior, societies, and organizations. Full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, more than 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Psychology database that contains full-text articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. Click here for title list.
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press This link opens in a new window
Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. Contains English and Spanish content. Created and maintained by the University of Arizona.
Los Angeles Times - Historical 1881-2014 This link opens in a new window
This database gives you access to full text Los Angeles Times articles from 1881 to 2014. You can find fulltext of the LA Times form 1980 to the present in the database called U.S. Major Dailies.

English 100 - Professor Robinson - FALL 2024: Cultural Memory Essay

Books

Selected Library Reference Sources

Useful Databases