PREVIEW Databases - Find Articles - Copy of ESL - English as a Second Language

Which One Do I Use?

Journals?
Magazines?
Newspapers?

When doing research, it is useful to know what these different publications are and what kind of information they contain.

• Journal articles are more scholarly or professional while magazine articles tend to be shorter and more general.

• Magazine articles appeal to the general reader and usually have relatively short articles are written in non-technical language are easy to understand

• Newspaper articles, while not usually scholarly or professional, can give you the most current news and some additional facts on your topic.

Find Articles

Find Articles

Use the following databases to find articles that are most relevant to your topic. See the Database Page for a complete description of the Cerritos College Library online resources.

Remember:

Always search databases using only the keywords that best describe your topic
Keywords can be combined into a search string with the operators "and", "or", "not"

Academic Search Premier
EBSCO database designed specifically for academic institutions, containing multi-disciplinary full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Issues & Controversies
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

MasterFile Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text for more than 2,400 magazines and journals, 850 reference books, and more than 73,000 primary source documents covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science, and more including image collections of photos, maps and flags.

Opposing Viewpoints
Resource to investigate hot topics and social issues. Contains pro/con viewpoints, background information, statistics, primary sources, news articles, and podcasts.

Copy of ESL - English as a Second Language: Databases - Find Articles

Which One Do I Use?

Find Articles