Here are some MLA citation guides you can print.
 |
Cite Your Sources |
Whenever you quote or base your ideas on another person's work, you must document the source you used. Even when you do not quote directly from another work, if reading that source contributed to the ideas presented in your paper, you must give the authors proper credit.
Citations allow readers to:
Citations provide:
In written academic work, citing sources is standard practice and shows that you are responding to this person, agreeing with that person, and adding something of your own. Think of documenting your sources as providing a trail for your reader to follow to see the research you performed and discover what led you to your original contribution.
Check this link for information on "Accidental Plagiarism."
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. Title of the Book. Publisher, Date of publication.
Mead, Rebecca J. How the Vote Was Won: Woman Suffrage in the Western United States, 1868-1914. New York UP, 2004.
Note: For two authors, only reverse the first author’s name; for three or more authors, follow the first author with a comma and et al.
Author's Last name, First name, and Second Author’s First name Last name Title of the Book.
Publisher, Date of publication.
LeJuan, James, and Cecilia Molinari. Definitely Hispanic: Growing Up Latino and Celebrating What Unites Us. Atria Books, 2019.
Murray, Elisabeth A., et al. The Evolutionary Road to Human Memory. Oxford UP, 2020.
Note: Similar to the regular format for citing a book in MLA with added information of the name of the database, and the Permalink or URL. Do not include the http:// or https://.
Author’s Last name, First name. Title of the book. Publisher, Date of publication. Name of database or eBook provider, Permalink or URL.
Levenstein, Harvey. Fear of Food: A History of Why We Worry about What We Eat. U of Chicago P, 2012. ProQuest Ebook Central,
ebookcentralporoquest.com/lib/cerritos-ebooks/detail.action?docID=867813.
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. Title of the book. Publisher, Date of publication, Name of database or eBook provider, Permalink or URL.
Gikandi, Simon. Ngugi wa Thiong’o. Cambridge UP, 2000. ACLS Humanities E-Book, hdl.handle.net/2027/heb.07588.0001.001.
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Title of reference book. Edition. Date of Publication, Page(s).
Hong, Maria. “Guatemalan Americans.” Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. 5th ed.
2000, pp. 153-68.
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of article.” Title of reference book, edited by Editor’s name(s), Edition, Volume number, Publisher, Date of publication, Page(s).
Tiffin, Jessica. “Harry Potter Films.” The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales, edited by Donald Haase, vol. 2, Greenwood Press, 2008, pp. 332-43.
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. "Title of work." Title of anthology, edited by Editor's Name(s), Edition, Publisher, Date of publication, Page(s).
Hutchinson, Janis Faye. “Racism” Medical.” Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, edited by Patrick L. Mason, 2nd ed., vol. 3, Macmillan Reference USA, 2013, pp. 330-35.
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of article.” Journal title, Volume number, Issue number, Date of publication, Page(s).
Craner, Paul M. “New Tool for an Ancient Art: The Computer and Music.” Computers and the Humanities, vol. 25, no. 5, 1991, pp. 303-13.
Note: A DOI is preferred; if it’s not available look for a permalink or URL. Include the http:// or https:// only for DOIs. Omit http:// or https:// for URLs.
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title, Volume number, Issue number, Date of publication, Page number(s). Name of Database, DOI or stable URL if provided.
Howell, David R., and Arne L. Kalleberg. “Declining Job Quality in the United States: Explanations and Evidence.” RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences, vol. 5, no. 4, 2019, pp. 1-53. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.7758/rsf.2019.5.4.01.
Herzog, Daniela, et al. “Does Inadequate Sleep Increase Obesity Risk in Children?” Journal of Family Practice, vol. 70, no. 10, Dec. 2021, pp. E1-2. Academic Search Complete, https://doi.org/10.12788/jfp.0319.
Julien, Jabari. “Leveraging Title VI and the Administrative Complaint Process to Challenge Discriminatory School Dress Code Policies.” Columbia Law Review, vol. 119, no. 8, Dec. 2019, pp. 2205-38. Academic Search Complete, cerritoscoll.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=b sh&AN=153517774&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of article.” Magazine title, Volume number, Issue number, Date of publication, Page(s).
Camera, Lauren. “GAO: Hate on the Rise in U.S. Schools.” U.S. News & World Report - The Report, Dec. 2021, p. C1.
Sparks, Sarah D. “Bullying Dropped as Students Spent Less Time in In-Person Classes During Pandemic.: Education Week, vol. 41, no. 20, Feb. 2022, p. 5.
Note: A DOI is preferred; if it’s not available look for a permalink or URL. Include the http:// or https:// only for DOIs. Omit http:// or https:// for URLs.
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of article.” Name of magazine, Volume number, Issue number, Date of publication, Page number(s). Name of Database, DOI or stable URL if provided.
Voulgarides, Catherine K. “The Promises and Pitfalls of Mandating Racial Equity in Special Education.” Phi Delta Kappan, vol. 103, no. 6, Mar. 2022, pp. 14-20. MasterFile Complete, https://doi.org/10.117700317217221092804.
Note: Accessed date is generally provided when an online source lacks a publication date, or if you suspect that the source may be changed or removed.
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of article.” Title of web magazine, Volume number, Issue number, Date of publication, Page(s), URL. Access date (if applicable).
Bianchi, Stephanie. “Peerless Pathways to Find Peer Reviews.” Info Today, vol. 33, no. 4, Jul.-Aug.
2009, www.infotoday.com/online/jul09/Bianchi.shtml.
Note: MLA uses the phrase, “Accessed” to denote which date you accessed the web page when available or necessary. It is not required to do so, but it is encouraged (especially when there is no copyright date listed on a website).
Author’s Last name, First name “Title of the web page or article.” Name of Site, Version numbers if available including editions, revisions, volumes or issue numbers. Publisher, Date of publication, URL. Access date (if applicable).
Alperin, Elijah and Jeanne Batalova. “Vietnamese Immigrants in the United States.” Migration Policy Institute, 13 Sept. 2018, migrationpolicy.org/article/vietnamese-immigrants-united-states-5.
Accessed 29 Sept. 2022.
Howard, Jacquline. “What is Rainbow Fentaytl? Colorful Pills Drive New Warnings About Deadliest Drug in the US.” CNN, 25 Sept. 2022,
www.cnn.com/2022/09/25/health/rainbow-fentanyl-pills-wellness/index.html. Accessed 20
Sept. 2022.
Kanopy Video
Basic format:
Title of Video. Contributor(s) First name Last name, Publisher/Production company, Date of publication. Name of database; streaming platform, URL.
Muriel Matters. Directed by Sonia Bible, Ronin Films, 2013. Kanopy, www.kanopy.com/en/cerritos/video/109399.
Note: Sometimes, you may be able to find out who created the video, and in that case, you would list that person as the author.
Last name, First name [or single username]. "Title of video." Title of website, uploaded by Publishing website, Date uploaded, URL.
Hill Kyle. “Is Ant-Man Secretly the Most Powerful Avenger?: YouTube, uploaded by Because Science, 5 July 2018, www.youtube.com/watch?v=a7DryiA60nY
“Mabel Ping-Hua Lee Fought for Voting Rights on Horseback.” YouTube, uploaded by Smithsonian, 2 Aug. 202, www.youtube.com/watch?v=U-uSgYqIvHA.
For detailed information on documenting your research using the Modern
Language Association (MLA) style, please consult the MLA Handbook 9th ed.,
REF LB2369 .M52 2021. There is also a circulating copy LB2369 .M52 2021.
Refer to the printable MLA 9 Documentation for additional examples and
explanation.
What has changed since MLA 8th edition?
MLA Style Center: What's New with the Ninth Edition includes information on formatting your research paper, citation practice template, FAQs, sample papers, and quick guide. They also provide citation guideline for common titles of online works.
BOOKS
A Book with One Author
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. Title of the Book. Publisher, Date of publication.
Example:
Buffington, Jack. The Recycling Myth: Disruptive Innovation to Improve the Environment. Praeger,
2016.
A Book with Two or More Authors
Note: For two authors, only reverse the first author’s name; for three or more authors, follow the first author with a comma and et al.
Basic format:
Author's Last name, First name, and Second Author’s First name Last name Title of the Book.
Publisher, Date of publication.
Example 1:
Jesse, Neal G., and Kristen P. Williams. Ethnic Conflict: A Systematic Approach to Cases of Conflict.
CQ Press, 2011.
Example 2:
Moseley, William G., et al. An Introduction to Human-Environment Geography. Wiley Blackwell, 2014.
An Electronic Book from a Cerritos College Library Database
Note: Include date accessed and full URL if professor requires. Do not include http.
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. Title of the Book. Publisher, Date of publication.
Name of Database, DOI or stable URL if provided.
Example:
Hayes, Kevin J. Road to Monticello: The Life and Mind of Thomas Jefferson. Oxford UP, 2008.
eBook Collection EBSCOhost.
An Electronic Book from the Web
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. Title of the Book. Title of the website. Publisher, Date of publication,
Web address. (do not include http)
Example:
Shakespeare, William. Macbeth. Project Gutenberg. Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation,
1998, www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/1524.
An Article in a Familiar Reference Book
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Title of Reference Book. Edition. Date of
Publication, Page number(s).
Example:
Hong, Maria. “Guatemalan Americans.” Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. 5th ed.
2000, pp. 153-68.
An Article in a Less Familiar Reference Book
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Title of Reference Book, edited by Editor’s name(s),
Volume number, Publisher, Date of publication, Page number(s).
Example:
La Patourel, John. “Normans and Normandy.” Dictionary of the Middle Ages, edited by Joseph R.
Strayer, vol. 13, Scribner’s, 1987, pp. 250-88.
An Article in an Anthology
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. "Title of Essay." Title of Collection, edited by Editor's Name(s),
Publisher, Date of publication, Page number(s).
Example:
Gaines, Ernest J. “The Sky Is Gray.” The Oxford Book of the American South: Testimony,
Memory, and Fiction, edited by Edward L. Ayers and Bradley C. Mittendorf, Oxford
University Press, 1997, pp. 492-516.
PERIODICALS
A Print Scholarly Journal Article
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title, Volume Number, Issue
Number, Date of publication, Page number(s).
Example:
Craner, Paul M. “New Tool for an Ancient Art: The Computer and Music.” Computers and
the Humanities, vol. 25, no. 5, 1991, pp. 303-13.
A Scholarly Journal Article from a Database
Note: Note: Include date accessed and full URL if professor requires. Do not include http.
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Journal Title, Volume number, Issue number,
Date of publication, Page number(s). Name of Database, DOI or stable URL if provided.
Example 1:
Goldman, Anne. “Questions of Transport: Reading Primo Levi Reading Dante.” The Georgia Review,
vol. 64, no. 1, Spring 2010, pp. 69-88. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/41403188.
Example 2:
Arnold, Wilfred Niels. “The Illness of Vincent van Gogh.” Journal of the History of the Neurosciences,
vol. 13, no. 1, Mar 2004, pp 22-43. Academic Search Premier.
A Print Magazine Article
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Magazine Title, Volume number, Issue number, Day
Month Year, Page Number(s).
Example 1:
McKibben, Bill. “Global Warming’s Terrifying New Chemistry.” Nation, vol. 302, no. 15/16, 11/18 Apr.
2016, pp. 12-18.
Example 2:
Luscombe, Belinda. “How to Stay Married.” Time, 13 June 2015, pp. 36-41.
A Magazine Article from a Database
Note: Include date accessed and full URL if professor requires. Do not include http.
Basic Format:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Name of Magazine, Volume number, Issue
number, Date of publication, Page number(s). Name of Database, DOI or stable URL if provided.
Example:
Horowitz, Alexandra. “My Dog Is Smarter Than Your Dog.” Discover, vol. 29, no. 7, July 2008, pp. 71-73.
MasterFile Premier.
An Article from an Online Periodical (not from a database)
Note: Include date accessed if your professor requires it.
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name. “Article name.” Title of Web Magazine, Publisher, Volume number,
Issue number, Date of Publication, Page number(s) if provided, Web address.
Example:
Bianchi, Stephanie. “Peerless Pathways to Find Peer Reviews.” Info Today, vol. 33, no. 4, Jul.-Aug.
2009, www.infotoday.com/online/jul09/Bianchi.shtml.
OTHER ONLINE RESOURCES
A Web Site or Page
Note: Include date accessed if your professor requires it.
Basic format:
Author’s Last name, First name “Title.” Name of Site, Name of institution/organization affiliated with
the site (sponsor or publisher), Date of resource creation if available, Web address.
Example:
Harris, Charles “Teenie.” Teenie Harris Archive, Carnegie Museum of Art,
www.teenie.cmoa.org/interactive/index.html#date08.
VIDEOS
Kanopy Video
Basic format:
Title of Video, Director. Publisher of Video, Date of Publication. Database, Permalink.
Example:
Julian Bond – Reflections from the Frontlines of the Civil Rights Movement, directed by Eduardo Montes
Bradley, Heritage Film Project, 2012. Kanopy Streaming Video, valencia.kanopystreaming.com/
video/julian-bond-reflections-frontlines-civil-rig.
A YouTube Video
Note: Include date accessed if your professor requires it.
Basic format:
Lastname, Firstname [or single username]. "Title of YouTube Video." Publishing Website, Day month
year posted, Web address.
Example:
McGonigal, Jane. “Gaming and Productivity.” YouTube, 3 July 2012,
www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkdzy9bWW3E.
Other Sources
A Personal Interview
Note: This is when you interview someone yourself.
Basic format:
Last name of person interviewed, Firstname. Personal Interview. Day Month Year of Interview.
Example:
Lopez, Felipe. Personal Interview. 19 May 2020.
For detailed information on documenting your research using the Modern Language Association (MLA) style, please stop at the Library Reference Desk and ask for the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers 8th ed.).