Books on African American music can be found in the Cerritos College Library and other libraries as well. Cerritos College students and staff have borrowing privileges at the Cerritos Public Library and the CSU, Long Beach Library. Details are provided in the links below.
Book resource information can also be found online, using such utilities as Google Books and Google Scholar. Search boxes for these utilities are provided below.
Your search for information can include books, magazines, journals, newspapers, and authoritative Internet Resources. Reference books are a good starting point for gathering background information. Use the index of each source to locate information.
|
The African American Almanac African American Music - A Chronology 1619-1995 All Music Guide … … Classical … Country … Jazz … Rock … Soul … Blues American Musical Traditions Blues Contemporary Musicians Chronology of American Musical Theater Country Encyclopedia of the Blues Encyclopedia of Country Music Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre
|
Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock and Soul Encyclopedia of Popular Music Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip-hip Culture Ethnic and Border Music: A Regional Exploration Film Composers in America From Spirituals to Symphonies Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History International Dictionary of Black Composers International Who’s Who in Music New Grove Dictionary of American Music New Grove Dictionary of Jazz New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Oxford Companion to Jazz Rap and Hip-hop Rap Whoz Who Rhythm and Blues, Rap, and Hip-hop Virgin Encyclopedia of Jazz Women Composers Women and Music in America Since 1900
|
The library also provides access to collections of electronic books. Here are few E-books available electronically which may may help you in your search for information:
African American Alamnac
African Americans and Popular Culture
The Blues Lyric Formula
Negro and His Songs
Satchmo: The Louis Armstrong Encyclopedia